ACC Indoor Track & Field: Team Titles To Be Decided Saturday


Florida State’s Harris, Duke’s Beach set Championship records during Friday’s session

Friday Results

Saturday Starts List

#ACCITF Championships Site

2014 #ACCITF Photo Gallery

CLEMSON, S.C. – A pair of men’s meet records fell as the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships continued on Friday at Clemson University.

Florida State’s James Harris set a new Championship mark in the high jump at 7-4½ (2.24m), while Duke’s Curtis Beach prevailed in the heptathlon with an all-time high score of 5,987.

Meanwhile, team scoring remains tight as the Championships move on to Saturday’s final round, which will feature finals in most of the running events in addition to the men’s and women’s shot put, pole vault and triple jump.

Duke leads the men’s competition with 44 points, while Florida State and North Carolina share second place with 40 points apiece. Notre Dame holds fourth place with 32 points, followed by NC State with 26.

The Florida State women used a late push to move into first place with 41 team points, followed by Duke with 37 and Maryland with 33. Miami (20) and NC State (18) rounded out the top five. 

Please see below for complete men’s and women’s team scoring.

The first completed event of  Friday’s session saw Florida State’s Harris win the men’s high jump for the second straight year and break the previous ACC Championship mark of 7-3 ¾ (2.23m) that he shared with former NC State standout Kris Korengay-Gober. Duke’s Tanner Anderson took the silver medal at 7-3 (2.21m) and Clemson’s Torian Ware the bronze at 7-1 ¾ (2.18m).  Harris entered this year’s competition as the nation’s second-ranked high jumper at 7-5 ¼ (2.27m).

In the conclusion of the men’s heptathlon, Duke’s Beach, who also won the event in 2012, topped the previous mark of 5,881 points set by Clemson’s Miller Moss in 2011. Beach’s score on Friday currently stands at the nation’s top mark for 2014. Blue Devil teammate Ian Rock took this year’s silver medal with 5,510 points, and Notre Dame’s Ted Glasnow had a bronze medal score of 5,459.

North Carolina junior AJ Hicks claimed the men’s weight throw with a gold medal toss of 67-5¼ (20.55m). Pitt’s Andrew Wells followed at 66-3¼ (20.20m) and Virginia Tech’s Tomas Kruzliak took the silver at 64-8 (19.71m).  Hicks became UNC’s first weight throw gold medalist since Nick Owens and Walter Henning took back-to-back firsts in 2007 and 2008.

Florida State boasted two of the three medalists in the men’s long jump, as Paul Madzivire led at 25-3¼, (7.70) on his third attempt, prevailing over NC State’s Jonathan Addison, who achieved the same mark on his fifth try. FSU’s Jalen Ramsey took the bronze at 24-5¾ (7.36m).

Notre Dame’s  Nick Happe wrapped up the day with a gold medal 5,000m run of 14:03.92. North Carolina claimed the silver and bronze, with Pat Schellenberg checking in at 14:05.08 and Ryan Walling at 14:05.94.

On the women’s side, Maryland’s Amber Melville posted a winning high jump of 6-1¼ (1.86m). Melville cleared the bar on her first attempt, while teammate Amina Smith achieved the same distance on her second try. The bronze went to Clemson’s Mimi Land, who jumped 6-feet even (1.83m).  The efforts by Melville and Smith currently tie for third-best nationally. Melville successfully defended her 2013 ACC title. Melville and Smith cleared the school record of 6-1, held for 34 years by Paula Girven (1980).

In the women’s weight throw, Miami’s Lea Johnson delivered a winning toss of 68-10½ (20,99m). NC State’s Nicole Chavis took the silver at 68-8¾ (20l.95m).  Precious Ogunleye gave the Hurricanes two of the three medalists in the event with a bronze throw of 67-11¾ (20.72m).  Johnson became the second Miami student-athlete to win the women’s weight throw and the second since Khadija Talley in 2007.

Florida State’s Der'Renae Freeman took the long jump with a distance of 20-11¼ (6.38m). Georgia Tech’s Julienne McKee took the silver at 20-5 (6.22m), while NC State’s Alexis Perry was the bronze medalist at 20-4½ (6.21m).

The 5,000-meter run closed the women’s slate for the day, with Duke’s Juliet Bottorff  successfully defended her title by leading the field at 15:59,40, followed by the Florida State duo of Pippa Woolven at 16:08.93 and Hannah Walker at 16:13.67.

The top three finishers in each individual event and the members of each gold medal relay team earn All-ACC honors.

The 2014 ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships conclude with Saturday’s final session, with action beginning at noon. ESPN3 will provide live coverage from the beginning until the conclusion of the session and will also air the event’s awards ceremony.  Veteran Jerry Massey will call the play-by-play, with John Wilkerson handling production.

There is no charge for admission. The ESPN3 live stream coverage may be accessed through the ACC Indoor Track and Field Championship page: .

Live results can be accessed at, and additional information will be available at @ACCTrackField and Tags #ACCITF on Twitter.

(Through 6 events)
1. Duke 44
T2. North Carolina 40
T2. Florida State 40
4.    Notre Dame 32
5.    NC State 26
6.    Virginia Tech 11
7.   Pitt 9
8.   Georgia Tech 8
9.    Virginia  7
10.  Syracuse 6
10.  Clemson 6
12.  Miami 5
13.  Virginia 6
14. Pitt 5
15. Boston College 3


(Through 6 events)
1.Florida State 41
2.Duke 37
3.Maryland 33
4.Miami 20
5.NC State 18
6.North Carolina 12.5
T7.    Georgia Tech 11
T7.    Syracuse 11
T7. Clemson 11
T10.  Notre Dame 9
T10.  Virginia Tech 9
12.  Wake Forest 7.5
13.  Virginia 6
14. Pitt 5
15. Boston College 3