ACC Men’s Lacrosse: ACC to be Represented at FIL World Lacrosse Championship

(Photo courtesy of

World Championship set for July 10-19 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo.

GREENSBORO  – Atlantic Coast Conference men’s lacrosse will have a strong presence at the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse Men’s World Championship, presented by Trusted Choice, that will take place July 10-19 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. 

Three former ACC standouts are members of the U.S. National Team, including Ned Crotty and David Lawson of Duke and Marcus Holman of North Carolina. Steele Stanwick of Virginia was selected as an alternate to the U.S. squad.

Syracuse rising senior Randy Staats will represent the Iroquois Nationals. He is the only current ACC student-athlete that will participate at the World Championship.  

In addition to the seven current and former ACC players competing at the World Championship, former Syracuse student-athlete Matt Abbott will represent Team USA, while John Galloway will serve as an alternate. Fellow SU alums Cody Jamieson, Brett Bucktooth, Jeremy Thompson and Sid Smith join Staats with the Iroquois Nationals, and Notre Dame’s David Earl is a member of Team Canada.

Virginia associate head coach Marc Van Arsdale will serve as the Iroquois’ offensive coordinator, and current Cavalier defenseman Tanner Scales is the volunteer defensive coordinator for Uganda. 

The U.S. hosts Canada to open play on Thursday at 9 p.m. ET. That game will be carried live on ESPN2. ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3 will carry over 40 games of the tournament, including the semifinal and championship games on ESPNU.

ACC Student-Athletes Competing at the FIL World Lacrosse Championship

U.S. National Team
Name                               Position            School

Ned Crotty                        Attack                Duke
Marcus Holman                  Attack               North Carolina
Matt Abbott                      Midfield               Syracuse
David Lawson                    Midfield              Duke

John Galloway, Syracuse
Steele Stanwick, Virginia

Iroquois Nationals
Name                             Position            School
Cody Jamieson                Attack               Syracuse
Randy Staats                  Attack               Syracuse
Brett Bucktooth              Midfield              Syracuse
Jeremy Thompson           Midfield              Syracuse
Sid Smith                       Defense            Syracuse

Name                             Position            School
David Earl                        Midfield              Notre Dame