ACC Women’s Soccer: Dunn, Kallman Lead All-ACC Team


UNC senior named Offensive Player of the Year; FSU senior earns Defensive Player honor

GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina senior midfielder Crystal Dunn has been named the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Soccer Player of the Year, while Florida State senior Kassey Kallman earned Defensive Player of the Year honors in a vote of the league’s 14 head coaches.

Virginia’s Steve Swanson is the ACC Coach of the Year, while Notre Dame midfielder Morgan Andrews was recognized as the ACC Freshman of the Year.

Dunn became the first ACC women’s soccer player to win both of the conference’s Player of the Year Awards. The Rockville Centre, N.Y., native was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2010 and 2012.  Dunn currently leads the fourth-ranked Tar Heels and ranks fifth among ACC players in scoring with 29 points (1.71 per game) heading into Friday night’s ACC Championship semifinal action. Dunn ranks third among ACC players in goals scored (12) and is tied for 11th in assists (5).

Kallman, of Woodbury, Minn., has played a major role in this year as third-ranked Florida State heads into the semifinals of the ACC Championship with a 16-1-3 record following a second-place regular-season finish in the always competitive ACC. Kallman has started every game in the backline in 2013 and ranks second on the team in minutes played. The Seminole defense ranks in the top 25 nationally in goals against average (11th) and save percentage (24th), while their 11 shutouts are the third most in the ACC.

Under Swanson’s guidance, Virginia (20-0-0) has been the nation’s consensus top-ranked team for the past eight weeks and is the only remaining unbeaten and untied NCAA Division I squad. The defending ACC champion Cavaliers were the first team since 2006 to post an unbeaten and untied regular-season conference record at 13-0. The 13 league wins set a new ACC record. The ACC Coach of the Year honor is the first for Swanson, who is in his 14th year at Virginia and owns a 312-134-5 career record in 24 seasons as a collegiate head coach.

Andrews has helped spark Notre Dame to an 11-7-1 overall record, a fifth-place finish in their inaugural ACC season and a No. 16 national ranking. Andrews’ five assists rank tied for 13th in the conference. She added five goals to rank second on her team in scoring, including the lone goal in the Fighting Irish’s 1-0 win at then-No. 1 North Carolina on Sept. 15. Andrews was named the ACC Player of the Week following that contest.

Dunn earned first-team All-ACC honors for the fourth consecutive season, and Kallman earned All-ACC accolades for the third time. Virginia and Florida State tied for the highest number of student-athletes earning first-, second- or third-team All-ACC recognition this year. Twelve schools placed at least one player on the 2013 All-ACC team, and 10 schools are represented on the 11-member ACC All Freshman Team.

The 2013 ACC Women’s Soccer Championship continues on Friday, Nov. 8 with a pair of semifinal matches. No. 1 seed Virginia will play No. 4 seed Virginia Tech in the first semifinal at 5:30 p.m., while No. 2 seed Florida State and No. 3 seed North Carolina will meet in the second semifinal at 8 p.m. Both matches will be streamed live on ESPN3. Sunday’s Championship match will kick off shortly after 4 p.m. and will be televised nationally by ESPNU.

The complete 2013 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Team and All-Freshman Team are listed below.


Offensive Player of the Year: Crystal Dunn, Sr., M, North Carolina
Defensive Player of the Year: Kassey Kallman, D, Sr., Florida State
Freshman of the Year: Morgan Andrews, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Coach of the Year: Steve Swanson, Virginia

All-ACC First Team
Aubrey Bledsoe, GK, Sr., Wake Forest
Morgan Brian, Jr., M, Virginia
Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Jr., M, Florida State
Makenzy Doniak, So., F, Virginia
Crystal Dunn, Sr., M, North Carolina
Kassey  Kallman, Sr., D, Florida State
Stephanie McCaffrey, Jr., F, Boston College
Kealia Ohai, Sr., F, North Carolina
Jazmine Reeves, Sr., F, Virginia Tech
Cari Roccaro, So., M, Notre Dame
Emily Sonnett, So., D, Virginia

All-ACC Second Team
Natasha Anasi, D, Sr., Duke
Morgan Andrews, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Hayley Brock, Sr., F, Maryland
Megan Campbell, Jr., D, Florida State
Danielle Colaprico, Jr., M, Virginia
Kristin Grubka, Jr., D, Florida State
McKenzie Meehan, So., F, Boston College
Ashley Meier, So., M, Virginia Tech
Riley Ridgik, Jr., M, Wake Forest
Katie Stengel, F, Sr., Wake Forest
Kelsey Wys, Sr., GK, Florida State

All-ACC Third Team
Jordan Coburn, So., D, Virginia Tech
Kim DeCesare, R-Sr., F, Duke
Ashley Flinn, Jr., F, Miami
Summer Green, So, F, North Carolina
Mandy Laddish, Sr., M, Notre Dame
Vanessa Laxgang, Sr. M, Clemson
Molly Menchel, Sr., D, Virginia
Casey Morrison, Jr., D, Boston College
Kailen Sheridan, Fr., GK, Clemson
Ashley Spivey, So., F, Maryland
Jackie Stengel, Fr., Fr., NC State

ACC All-Freshman Team
Morgan Andrews, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Hayley Dowd, Fr., F,  Boston College
Nickolette Driesse, Fr., M, Florida State
Christina Gibbons, Fr., D, Duke
Amber Munerlyn, Fr., F, North Carolina
Toni Payne, Fr., M, Duke
Kailen Sheridan, Fr., GK, Clemson
Morgan Stearns, Fr., GK, Virginia
Jackie Stengel, Fr., F, NC State
Sarah Teegarden, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Murielle Tiernan, Fr., F, Virginia Tech