@ACCWBB: Ten Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason


ACC leads all leagues with 10 representatives

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Ten Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes have been named to the  Naismith Trophy Midseason Top 30 List for the 2013-14 Women’s Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T.

Included on the list from the ACC are Duke senior guard Tricia Liston and junior center/forward Elizabeth Williams, Florida State senior forward Natasha Howard, Georgia Tech senior guard Tyaunna Marshall, Maryland senior forward Alyssa Thomas, North Carolina freshman guard Diamond DeShields, NC State senior center Markeisha Gatling, and Notre Dame sophomore guard Jewell Loyd, senior forward Natalie Achonwa and senior guard Kayla McBride.

The ACC leads all leagues with 10 of the 30 selections. 

Nine of the 10 selections were also recently named to the Wade Watch list of candidates for the sport’s player of the year honor as awarded by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

The Naismith voting academy will narrow this list to four finalists who will go on the final ballot. The winner is selected by the board of selectors vote in conjunction with fan voting.

ACC Representation on the Naismith Midseason Top 30 list

Natalie Achonwa, Sr., F, Notre Dame

Diamond DeShields, Fr., G, North Carolina

Markeisha Gatling, Sr., C, NC State

Natasha Howard, Sr., F, Florida State

Tricia Liston, Sr., G, Duke

Jewell Loyd, So., G, Notre Dame

Tyaunna Marshall, Sr., G, Georgia Tech

Kayla McBride, Sr., G, Notre Dame

Alyssa Thomas, Sr., F, Maryland

Elizabeth Williams, Jr., C/F, Duke