ACC Programs Send 15 Golfers to the PGA Championship


Play gets underway Thursday at Valhalla Golf Club


GREENSBORO, N.C. – Fifteen golfers from Atlantic Coast Conference schools will tee off Thursday at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky, as part of the 2014 PGA Championship.

Eight league programs will be represented in the tournament, led by Georgia Tech with five golfers: Roberto Castro, Stewart Cink, Matt Kuchar, Cameron Tringale, and Chesson Hadley. Florida State (Georgia McNeill, Brooks Koepka, and Jonas Blixt) has three former players in the field, while Wake Forest (Bill Haas and Webb Simpson) has two representatives.

Clemson (Ben Martin), Duke (Kevin Streelman), North Carolina (Davis Love III), NC State (Tim Clark), and Virginia Tech (Brendon de Jonge) all have one apiece.

With two regular-season events remaining, 12 of the 15 ACC golfers at the PGA Championship currently sit in position to qualify for the FedExCup. Kuchar leads the group at No. 4, followed by Simpson at No. 15, Clark at No. 27, Haas at No. 34, Streelman at No. 36, and McNeill at No. 37. Eleven of the 15 are currently ranked in the top 100, with the top 125 qualifying for the playoffs.

Golfers from ACC schools have combined for five victories at the PGA Championship, with the most recent coming in 1997 by Love III. Three Florida State Seminoles won the event in a nine year stretch from 1985-93: Hubert Green in 1985, Jeff Sluman in 1988, and Paul Azinger in 1993.  Wake Forest’s Lanny Wadkins was victorious in 1977.

Golfers from ACC Schools in the 2014 PGA Championship Field
Ben Martin, Clemson
Kevin Streelman, Duke
George McNeill, Florida State
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Davis Love III, North Carolina
Tim Clark, NC State
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest