ACC Programs Send 15 Golfers to the PGA Championship


Play gets underway Thursday at Oak Hill Country Club

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Fifteen golfers from Atlantic Coast Conference schools, including 1997 winner Davis Love III (pictured above), will tee off Thursday at the Oak Hill Country Club in Rochester, N.Y., as part of the 2013 PGA Championship. The 15 from the ACC is the most of any conference in the country.

Nine league programs will be represented on the Oak Hill East Course, led by three from Georgia Tech: Matt Kuchar, Stewart Cink, and Roberto Castro. Clemson (Lucas Glover, Kyle Stanley), Florida State (Jonas Blixt, Brooks Koepka), NC State (Tim Clark, Carl Pettersson), and Wake Forest (Bill Haas, Webb Simpson) all have two former players in the field, followed by Duke (Kevin Streelman), Miami (Woody Austin), North Carolina (Love III) and Virginia Tech (Brendon de Jonge) with one apiece.​

Kuchar, who sits in second place, leads all league players in the FedExCup standings and is joined in the top 10 by Haas in sixth and Streelman in ninth. A total of 11 golfers from ACC programs that will compete at Oak Hill rank in the top 100.

Glover, the 2009 U.S. Open winner; Cink, who won the 2009 British Open; and Simpson, the 2012 U.S. Open winner, will join Love III as former major winners in the field.

Golfers from ACC schools have combined for five victories at the PGA Championship, with the most recent coming in 1997 by Love III. Three Florida State Seminoles won the event in a nine year stretch from 1985-93: Hubert Green in 1985, Jeff Sluman in 1988, and Paul Azinger in 1993.  Wake Forest’s Lanny Wadkins was victorious in 1977.

Golfers from ACC Schools in the 2013 PGA Championship Field

Lucas Glover, Clemson
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Kevin Streelman, Duke
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Woody Austin, Miami
Davis Love III, North Carolina
Tim Clark, NC State
Carl Pettersson, NC State
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest