ACC Players Collect All-America Honors


NCBWA and Baseball America announce All-America squads

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Six baseball student-athletes from the ACC were named All-Americans on Wednesday, collecting a total of 10 honors from Baseball America and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Four players were named to both squads, led by NC State SS Trea Turner, who garnered two first-team honors. Virginia SP Nathan Kirby is on the Baseball America first team and the second team from the NCBWA, while both publications selected Florida State OF D.J. Stewart to the second team. North Carolina SS Michael Russell garnered two third-team accolades.

NC State C Brett Austin was named to the Baseball America third team, and Miami RP Bryan Garcia is a member of the NCBWA All-America third team. 

The NCBWA’s Freshman All-America Team was announced on Monday and recognized five from the ACC, including a national best four on the first team: Maryland SP Mike Shawaryn, Miami C Zack Collins and Garcia, and NC State 3B Andrew Knizner. Maryland 2B Brandon Lowe was named to the second team.

With the two All-America teams announced Wednesday and the Louisville Slugger squad from last week, 11 different ACC players from six programs have earned national recognition, while seven more have been named to a Freshman All-America team.