ACC Night of Legends Event Presented by the Belk Bowl to be held Dec. 6


Dari Nowkhah and Tim Brant to host event to honor past and present ACC football greats.

•  Visit the 2013 #ACCFCG Site

CHARLOTTE, NC – The Atlantic Coast Conference will host the ACC Night of Legends on Friday, Dec. 6 at the Charlotte Convention Center.  The signature event will recognize a Legend from each ACC institution as well as the 2013 ACC Football season's award winners. The 2013 ACC Football Legends will also be honored during a ceremony at the 2013 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game at Bank of America Stadium on Dec. 7.

The gala will embody the true spirit of ACC Football and will offer attendees the opportunity to meet some of the biggest names in college football. A reception will be held from 6 – 7 p.m., with the dinner and awards presentation beginning at 7 p.m. 

Dari Nowkhah, the lead anchor on ESPNU, will serve as emcee for the evening and announce the postseason award winners.  Tim Brant, the Vice President and Director of Sports for ABC 7/WJLA-TV in Washington, D.C., will present the ACC Legends. 

“The ACC Night of Legends is a terrific event that allows our league to celebrate the accomplishments of the regular-season as well as honor the rich football history from our member institutions,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “This year’s award winners combined with the outstanding 2013 class of legends should make this an incredibly special night.” 

The league’s website,, will highlight the class of 2013 ACC Football Legends Q-and-As and video features.  More information can be found at

Night of Legends event tickets are still available but are selling quickly. To purchase event tickets, tables or for more information please visit

The following ACC Legends will be honored:

Player                           School
Mike Cloud                   Boston College            
Terry Kinard                Clemson
Wes Chesson                Duke             
Jamie Dukes                 Florida State
Robert Lavette             Georgia Tech               
Boomer Esiason          Maryland
Edgerrin James            Miami           
Ken Willard                  North Carolina            
Dave Buckey                NC State        
Don Buckey                  NC State
Johnny Majors             Pittsburgh    
Floyd Little                   Syracuse
Tom Scott                     Virginia        
André Davis                 Virginia Tech              
Jay Venuto                    Wake Forest

The following Players and Coaches awards will be presented:

Jacob’s Blocking Trophy               Best Blocking Offensive Lineman
Brian Piccolo Award                      Most Courageous Player
Jim Tatum Award                            Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Offensive Rookie of the Year
Defensive Rookie of the Year
Overall Rookie of the Year            Either the Off. or Def. Rookie of the Year will also win this award
Offensive Player of the Year
Defensive Player of the Year
Overall Play of the Year                 Either the Off. or Def. Player of the Year will also win this award
Coach of the Year

2013 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship: The 2013 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game will be played Dec. 7 in primetime at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium.  The nationally televised game will feature the Atlantic Division Champion, Florida State, against the Coastal Division Champion.  To purchase tickets, and for more information on the full weekend of ACC festivities, visit