#ACCMGolf Championship Preview

Four Conference Teams Ranked in Nation’s Top 20; Play Begins Friday

#ACCMGolf Championship Page

Greensboro, N.C. -- The team pairings are set for the opening round of the 61st annual ACC Men’s Golf Championship, which will be held Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, April 25-27, over the 7,102-yard, par-72 course at the Old North State Country Club in New London, N.C.

Boston College, Maryland and Notre Dame begin the championship on Friday teeing off at 8:30 a.m. NC State, North Carolina and Duke are in the next wave at 9:20, followed by Wake Forest, Clemson and Florida State at 10:20 a.m. Virginia Tech, Virginia and Georgia Tech have the morning’s final tee time at 11:10 a.m.

ACC Men’s Golf Championship - First Round Pairings
8:30 - 9:10 a.m. = Boston College, Maryland, Notre Dame
9:20 - 10:00 a.m. = NC State, North Carolina, Duke
10:20 - 11:00 a.m. = Wake Forest, Clemson, Florida State
11:10 - 11:50 a.m. = Virginia Tech, Virginia, Georgia Tech

Duke enters as the defending champion and will try to repeat against a field that features four teams ranked in the top 20 nationally: No. 5 Georgia Tech, No. 8 Virginia, No. 12 Virginia Tech, and No. 19 Florida State. Clemson is No. 33, followed by No. 37 Wake Forest, No. 86 Duke, No. 92 North Carolina, No. 102 NC State, No. 104 Notre Dame, No. 139 Maryland and No. 212 Boston College.

Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans enters as the highest ranked golfer in the league at No. 3 in the country according to Golfstat. Following Schniederjans, five more ACC golfers rank in the top 50: No. 11 Scott Vincent (Virginia Tech), No. 15 Jack Maguire (Florida State), No. 22 Denny McCarthy (Virginia), No. 23 Seth Reeves (Georgia Tech) and No. 37 Trevor Cone (Virginia Tech). 

2014 marks the 13th-straight year and 29th time overall that the league championship will be held at the Old North State Country Club. Wake Forest leads all schools with 18 league titles and 22 individual champions. Georgia Tech, which has won 12 outright ACC Championships and shared two more, has produced nine individual medalists, including Anders Albertson, last year’s winner. North Carolina is third with 11 titles (10 outright), followed by Clemson with nine (eight outright).

Saturday and Sunday action will be streamed live by the ACC Digital Network starting at 2 p.m. each day. There is no charge for admission.