ACC Men's Golf Well Represented at British Open

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The field that begins play Thursday at the 142nd British Open Golf Championship at Muirfield will include 13 golfers from current ACC schools, the most of any conference in the country.

      Stewart Cink of Georgia Tech

Seven league programs are represented at Muirfield, and five have multiple former players that qualified. The field includes Clemson’s Kyle Stanley and Lucas Glover; Duke’s Kevin Streelman; Florida State’s Brooks Koepka and Jonas Blixt; Georgia Tech’s David Duval, Matt Kuchar, and Stewart Cink; NC State’s Carl Pettersson and Tim Clark; Virginia Tech’s Johnson Wagner; and Wake Forest’s Bill Haas and Webb Simpson.

Four players from ACC schools have won The Open Championship seven times. Georgia Tech’s Bobby Jones won three Opens, followed by Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer with two and Georgia Tech’s Duval and Cink with one victory apiece. The seven combined wins are the second most from any conference.

Glover (2009 U.S. Open) and Simpson (2012 U.S. Open) join Cink and Duval as former major winners in the field.

Play gets underway in Gullane, Scotland, Thursday morning at 6:32 a.m. local time and 1:32 a.m. ET.

Golfers from ACC schools at the 142nd Open Championship
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Lucas Glover, Clemson                 
Kevin Streelman, Duke
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
David Duval, Georgia Tech          
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech         
Carl Pettersson, NC State
Tim Clark, NC State
Johnson Wagner, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest