ACC Golfers Set for Wyndham Championship

Twenty-three from league schools will be in the field
(Pictured: Webb Simpson of Wake Forest)

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Twenty-three golfers from Atlantic Coast Conference schools will tee off Thursday morning as part of the 2013 Wyndham Championship, held at Greensboro’s Sedgefield Country Club.

The 23 golfers are the most from any conference in the country, and Georgia Tech leads all schools with eight former golfers. Nine ACC schools will have a representative in the field.

Former ACC golfers have won the Wyndham Championship twice in the past five years, with Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson in 2011 and NC State’s Carl Pettersson in 2008.

The Wyndham Championship is the final tournament before the start of the FedExCup, with the top 125 golfers in the standings advancing to the Barclays next week.

Golfers from ACC Schools at the 2013 Wyndham Championship
Jonathan Byrd, Clemson
Lucas Glover, Clemson
George McNeill, Florida State
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech
Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Troy Matteson, Georgia Tech
Paul Haley II, Georgia Tech
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Woody Austin, Miami
Carl Pettersson, NC State
Tim Clark, NC State
Kelly Mitchum, NC State
Davis Love III, North Carolina
James Driscoll, Virginia
Ben Kohles, Virginia
Johnson Wagner, Virginia Tech
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest