ACC Boasts Four MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists


Brian, Dunn, Mullins, and Shipp up for highest award in college soccer

GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina’s Crystal Dunn, Virginia’s Morgan Brian, Maryland’s Patrick Mullins, and Notre Dame’s Harrison Shipp have been selected as finalists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

Along with Dunn and Miller, UCLA’s Abby Dahlkemper rounds out the three women’s finalists. On the men’s side, UCLA’s Leo Stoltz joins Mullins and Shipp as finalists.

Both Dunn and Mullins won the award last year. On the men’s side, ACC student-athletes have been awarded the trophy five times since 2002, while the women have been honored three times in that span.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award presented annually during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. This year the banquet will take place Friday, Jan. 10, 2014.

NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA College Services members voted for their top choices from the list of 15 men and 15 women named semifinalists last Tuesday. Soccer fans were also encouraged to vote for their favorite player on the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome. The six semifinalists were the top vote-getters from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy page at

About the Missouri Athletic Club
The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s players of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to