ACC Announces 2014 @ACCSwimDive Award Recipients


(Reaney photo by: Walt Middleton; McCrory photo by: Brendan Maloney)

Duke, Florida State, Notre Dame, Virginia and Virginia Tech collect honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The Atlantic Coast Conference has honored 10 individuals as recipients of the 2014 ACC Swimming & Diving Annual awards, as announced Thursday by the conference office. The winners were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Virginia Tech garnered four accolades, as Ned Skinner was tabbed as the Men’s Coach of the Year, Jan Switkowski earned Men’s Freshman of the Year, Kaylea Arnett was named the Women’s Diver of the Year and Ron Piemonte brought home Women’s Diving Coach of the Year recognition. Virginia’s Augie Busch and Leah Smith earned recognition, as they received Women’s Coach of the Year and Women’s Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Duke’s Nick McCrory, the Men’s Diver of the Year, and Nunzio Esposto, the Men’s Diving Coach of the Year were honored, while Notre Dame’s Emma Reaney and Florida State’s Pavel Sankovich took Women’s and Men’s Swimmer of the Year, respectively.

Notre Dame’s Reaney, a junior from Lawrence, Kan., rewrote the record book on her way to becoming the national champion in the 200 breaststroke event. At the 2014 ACC Championship, Reaney set a new NCAA, U.S. Open and American record in the 200 breast, earned meet Female Most Valuable Swimmer honors and captured three gold medals. Reaney followed that stellar performance at the ACC meet with another NCAA, U.S Open and American record at the NCAA Championships in the 200 breast, In total, Reaney earned three All-America honors this season.

McCrory earned the Male Diver of the Year crown for the fourth time in his career, becoming the third student-athlete in ACC history to earn the same top performer of the year award on four occasions. McCrory won his fourth platform diving title at the 2014 NCAA Championships – the first athlete to accomplish that feat in that discipline. In addition to his individual national championship, McCrory earned All-America status in the 1-meter dive event to give him a total of 11 All-America honors in his diving career with the Blue Devils. At the 2014 ACC Championships, the senior from Chapel Hill, N.C., won each diving discipline and the Most Valuable Diver Award.

Florida State’s Sankovich, who took home six medals (four golds, two silvers) and Male Most Valuable Swimmer honors at the 2014 ACC Championships, earned four All-America accolades at the 2014 NCAA Championships, including top eight finishes in the 100 back and 100 fly.

After winning the one- and three-meter diving competitions along with placing third in the platform at the 2014 ACC Championships, Virginia Tech’s Arnett became just the third female diver to claim three ACC Championship Most Valuable Diver honors. At the 2014 NCAAs, Arnett placed third in the one-meter and snagged honorable mention All-America status in the three-meter and platform disciplines.

At the 2014 ACCs, Virginia Tech’s Switkowski was the champion in the 500 free competition, defeating his nearest competition by nearly two seconds. At the NCAAs, Switkowski competed in multiple events and was part of a relay team that narrowly missed honorable mention All-America honors in the 800 Free Relay, placing 18th.

Smith, tabbed as the Women’s Freshman of the Year, collected All-America status in the 1650 free at the 2014 NCAAs. Additionally, the Pittsburgh, Pa., native racked up All-America accolades in the 800 free relay and honorable mention All-America honors in the 500 free at the national competition. At the 2014 ACCs, Smith captured gold in the 1650 free and 500 free to go along with a silver medal in the 200 free.

In his first yearat the helm of the Virginia women, Busch continued the program’s winning ways, as he guided the Cavaliers to their seventh consecutive ACC title. At the 2014 NCAAs, Busch led UVa to an 11th-place finish – the highest of any ACC team. In total, his swimmers collected a total of 11 All-America honors and seven honorable mention All-America accolades.

Skinner led the Virginia Tech men to their first ACC championship at the 2014 ACCs, snapping a string of six consecutive titles by Virginia. At the 2014 NCAAs, the Hokies placed 20th overall, while registering two All-America honors and three honorable mention All-Americas.

Piemonte, the Women’s Diving Coach of the Year, was integral in the instruction of Arnett, who took home three All-America accolades at the NCAAs. Piemonte was also key in the Virginia Tech men’s run to the 2014 ACC title, as his divers compiled 205 points and made the difference in Virginia Tech’s 38-point victory over NC State at the 2014 ACC Championships.

Duke’s Esposto, in his first season with the Blue Devils, guided McCrory during his historic senior season that included one national championship and two All-America accolades. At the 2014 ACCs, Esposto’s divers collected 125 team points. Esposto becomes the second straight coach from Duke to earn the accolade.   

Men’s Swimmer of the Year – Pavel Sankovich, Florida State

Men’s Diver of the Year – Nick McCrory, Duke

Men’s Freshman of the Year – Jan Switkowski, Virginia Tech

Men’s Coach of the Year – Ned Skinner, Virginia Tech

Men’s Diving Coach of the Year – Nunzio Esposto, Duke

Women’s Swimmer of the Year – Emma Reaney, Notre Dame

Women’s Diver of the Year – Kaylea Arnett, Virginia Tech

Women’s Freshman of the Year – Leah Smith, Virginia

Women’s Coach of the Year – Augie Busch, Virginia

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year – Ron Piemonte, Virginia Tech