ACC Announces 2012-13 Academic Honor Roll


Conference recognizes a record 2,909 student-athletes

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - The 57th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2012-13 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged a record 2,909 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2012-13 academic year.

Duke led all schools with an ACC-record 474 student-athletes recognized, eclipsing its own mark of 452 set last year. Boston College saw 391 student-athletes honored, followed by North Carolina with 329, Virginia 286, Florida State 222, Virginia Tech 216, Maryland 192, NC State 181, Clemson 175, Georgia Tech 157, Miami 156 and Wake Forest 130. 

Florida State’s Jessica PriceFlorida State's Keith WeeksHeadlining this year's list are two student-athletes that are six-time ACC Honor Roll recipients:  Florida State’s Jessica Price (women’s soccer) and Keith Weeks (football) and 20 five-time recipients: Duke’s Kenny Anunike (football), Megan Deakins (women’s cross country/track & field), James Kostelnik (men’s cross country/track & field), Leslie Morrison (cross country/track & field), Sean Renfree (football), Cydney Ross (women’s cross country/track & field), Peter Terrezza (wrestling) and Sophia Zieman (women’s cross country/track & field); Florida State’s Michael Fout (men’s cross country/track & field) and Casey Short (women’s soccer); Georgia Tech’s Elizabeth Lacksen (women’s track & field) and Minghao Wang (men’s golf); Maryland’s Christopher Miller (men’s golf); North Carolina’s Pete Mangum (football); NC State’s Patrick Campbell (men’s cross country/track & field), Brian Himelright (men’s cross country/track & field) and Emily Pritt (men’s cross country/track & field); Virginia’s Sean Keveren (men’s cross country), and Virginia Tech’s Matthias Treff (men’s track & field) and Jennifer Wiker (volleyball).

The 2012-13 Academic Honor Roll features 23 ACC Players of the Year. Those student-athletes include Clemson’s Brittney Waller (women’s indoor field);  Duke’s Henrique Cunha (men’s tennis), Brendan Fowler (men’s lacrosse defensive), Chelsea Gray (women’s basketball coaches’), Kara McCormack (women’s diving), Nick McCrory (men’s diving), Ali McCurdy (volleyball defensive) and Elizabeth Williams (women’s basketball defensive); Florida State’s Ashley Neff (volleyball); Maryland’s Patrick Mullins (men’s soccer), Iliana Sanza (women’s lacrosse defensive) and Katie Schwarzmann (women’s lacrosse offensive); North Carolina’s Kent Emanuel (baseball pitcher) and Tom Luchsinger (men’s swimming); NC State’s Emily Weiman (softball pitcher) Virginia’s Brittany Altomare (women’s golf), Sarah Cowburn (rowing), Contanze Duell  (rowing),  Susanne Grainger (rowing), Chandler Lally (rowing) and Kristine O’Brien (rowing), and Virginia Tech’s  Pete Yates (wrestling) and Alexander Ziegler (men’s indoor field).

The league saw 10 ACC Freshmen of the Year named to the honor roll: Duke’s Celine Boutier (women’s golf) and Cassie Pecht (women’s soccer), Florida State’s Hank Lebioda (men’s golf) and Sage Watson (women’s outdoor track and field);  Maryland’s Taylor Cummings (women’s lacrosse); North Carolina’s Paige Neuenfeldt (volleyball) and Emily Wold (field hockey); Virginia’s Courtney Bartholomew (women’s swimming and diving) and Luke Papendick (men’s swimming and diving), and Virginia Tech’s Amerigo Contini (men’s tennis).

The ACC Academic Honor Roll includes a pair of 2012 ACC football postseason award recipients in Duke’s Renfree (Jim Tatum Award) and North Carolina’s Jonathan Cooper (Jacobs Blocking Trophy), as well as 2013 women’s basketball Sixth Player of the Year honoree Chasity Clayton of Florida State.