2017 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team Announced

North Carolina leads all teams with six selections

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Regular-season champion North Carolina leads the way with six selections on the 2017 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Team, as voted upon by the league’s head coaches and announced on Wednesday. 
The Tar Heels, who own a 13-2 overall record and carry the No. 1 seed into this week’s ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship, placed attackers Molly Hendrick and Ela Hazar, midfielder Marie McCool and defender Maggie Auslander on the first team. Attacker Sammy Jo Tracy and goalkeeper Caylee Waters were second-team selections.
Other first-team selections include Boston College attacker Sam Apuzzo, Louisville attacker Hannah Koloski and goalkeeper Brittany Read, Notre Dame attacker Cortney Fortunato and midfielder Casey Pearsall, Virginia midfielder Maggie Jackson, Duke defender Maura Schwitter and Syracuse defender Kaeili O’Connor
Rounding out the second team are Boston College attacker Kate Weeks and defender Elizabeth Miller, Syracuse attacker Riley Donahue and Natalie Wallon, Virginia midfielder Kasey Behr, Kaitlin Luzik and Maggie Preas, Duke midfielder Maddie Crutchfield, Louisville midfielder Meghan Siverson and Notre Dame midfielder Alex Dalton.
The team includes the league’s top 10 scorers in Boston College’s Apuzzo (4.88 points per game), Notre Dame’s Fortunato (4.29), North Carolina’s Hendrick (4.00), Boston College’s Weeks (3.94), UNC’s Hazar (3.67), Louisville’s Koloski (3.63), Virginia’s Jackson (3.47), Louisville’s Sivers (3.47), Notre Dame’s Pearsall (3.25) and UNC’s McCool (3.20).
Also featured are four of the league’s top five leaders in assists: UNC’s Hazar (1.93), Notre Dame’s Pearsall (1.69), Boston College’s Apuzzo (1.65) and Virginia’s Jackson (1.53).
Louisville’s Read leads all ACC keepers in saves per game (10.00) and save percentage (.515). Virginia’s Jackson has claimed a league-leading 3.06 ground balls per game.
Reigning ACC and NCAA Champion UNC holds the top seed for the 2017 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship, which gets underway Thursday, April 27 at Sports Backers Stadium in Richmond, Virginia. 

The Tar Heels (13-2, 6-1 ACC) will play No. 8 seed Duke (8-8, 1-6 ACC) in the first game of the tournament on Thursday at 11 a.m. Other quarterfinal matchups include No. 4 Notre Dame (11-6, 4-3 ACC) taking on No. 5 Boston College (12-5, 3-4 ACC) at 2 p.m., No. 2 seed Syracuse (13-5, 5-2 ACC) playing No. 7 seed Virginia Tech (11-7, 2-5 ACC)  at 5 p.m., and No. 3 Virginia (10-7, 4-3 ACC) against No. 6 Louisville (11-6, 3-4 ACC) at 8 p.m.

The four winners will meet in the semifinals on Friday, April 28 at 5 p.m. and 8 p.m., and the ACC Championship title game is set for Sunday, April 30 at 1 p.m.  All seven games of the tournament will be televised on the ACC’s Regional Sports Networks (RSN) and will also be available on ACC Network Extra.  

Individual awards, including Attacker, Midfielder, Defender, Freshman and Coach of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the ACC Championship.
2017 ACC Women’s Lacrosse All-ACC Team 
First Team 
A – Sam Apuzzo, So., Boston College *
A – Hannah  Koloski, Sr., Louisville
A – Ela Hazar, Jr., North Carolina *
A – Molly Hendrick, Sr., North Carolina *
A – Cortney Fortunato, Sr., Notre Dame *
M – Marie McCool, Jr., North Carolina *
M – Casey Pearsall, Sr., Notre Dame *
M – Maggie Jackson, So., Virginia
D – Maura Schwitter, Sr., Duke *
D – Maggie Auslander, Sr., North Carolina
D – Kaeli O’Connor, Sr., Syracuse
G – Brittany Read, Jr., Louisville

Second Team 
A – Kate Weeks, Sr., Boston College 
A – Sammy Jo Tracy, GS, North Carolina *
A – Riley Donahue, Jr., Syracuse *
M – Kasey Behr, Jr., Virginia
M – Maddie Crutchfield, Jr., Duke *
M – Meghan Siverson, So., Louisville
M – Alex Dalton, Sr., Notre Dame 
M – Natalie Wallon, So., Syracuse
D – Kaitlin Luzik, So., Virginia 
D – Maggie Preas, Sr., Virginia 
D – Elizabeth Miller, So., Boston College
G – Caylee Waters, Sr., North Carolina *

* 2017 Tewaaraton Award Watch List