2017 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

Virginia Tech’s Laidig recognized as sport’s ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Virginia Tech redshirt junior pole vaulter Torben Laidig has been recognized as the 2017 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. 

A biochemistry and biology double-major from Schwabish Hall, Germany, Laidig tied for sixth place and earned first-team All-America honors at the 2017 NCAA Indoor Championships with a vault of 5.45 meters on March 11 at College Station, Texas. That followed his ACC Championship-record performance two weeks earlier at Notre Dame’s Loftus Sports Center, in which he took the gold medal while setting a new meet standard of 5.55 meters (18-2.5).

Laidig also took first place in two home meets during the regular season and earned second place in another with marks that ranked among the nation’s top 10. 

In the classroom, Laidig has posted a 4.0 GPA each of the last five semesters while earning spots on both the dean’s list and the athletic director’s honor roll. He is a member of the Virginia Tech All-Academic Team and is a three-time selection to the ACC Honor Roll.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September of 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers, as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team. Every member of the 2017 All-ACC Men’s Track and Field Academic Team earned All-America and/or All-ACC honors, scored points for his team at the ACC Indoor Championships or was selected as an ACC Performer of the Week during the regular season. 

Laidig is one of a league-leading nine student-athletes from conference champion Virginia Tech named to the 2017 All-ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July. 

2017 All-ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Academic Team:

Name, School, Class, Major  
Terrell Jackson, Clemson, Fr., Pre-Business
Daniel Golubovic, Duke, Gr., Masters of Management
Connor Hall, Duke, Sr., Environmental Science
Rivers Ridout, Duke, So., Psychology
Colt Sessions, Duke, Jr., Economics
Humberto Freire, Florida State, Fr., Exploratory
Jamal Pitts, Florida State, Gr., Masters – Geographic Info. Science
Sam Costa, Georgia Tech, Fr., BSBA
Preston Smith, Georgia Tech, Jr., BSBA
Andreas Ward, Georgia Tech, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Marcus Jegede, Louisville, Jr., Sport Administration
Oliver Newport, Louisville, Jr.,  Accounting
Daniel Polinski, Miami, Jr.-r, Computer Engineering
Myles Valentine, Miami, So., Broadcast Journalism/Sports Admin.
RJ Alowonle, North Carolina, Sr., Business Administration
Darryl Shaw, North Carolina, So., Undeclared
Josh Davis, NC State, Sr., Business 
Elijah Moskowitz, NC State, Fr., Biological Sciences
Sam Parsons, NC State, Sr., Business
Matthew Birzer, Notre Dame, So., Business Analytics
Jacob Dumford, Notre Dame, Sr., Computer Science
Logan Kusky, Notre Dame, Fr., Computer Science
Christopher Marco, Notre Dame, Sr., Finance
Patrick O’Connell, Notre Dame, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Nathan Richartz, Notre Dame, Sr., Marketing/Philosophy
Ryan Schweizer, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared
Drake Stimson, Notre Dame, Jr., Marketing
Iliass Aouani, Syracuse, Jr., Engineering
Adam Palamar, Syracuse, Sr., Biology
Zach Herriott, Virginia, Sr., Educational Psychology
Jefferey Jernigan, Virginia, Sr., Aerospace Engineering
Jack Lint, Virginia, Jr., Computer Science
Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia, Sr., Environmental Sciences
Chase Weaverling, Virginia, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Aaron Worrell, Virginia, Sr., Biology
Henry Wynne, Virginia, Sr., Economics
Kevin Cianfarini, Virginia Tech, Jr., Computer Science
Vincent Ciattei, Virginia Tech, Sr., Engineering Science & Mechanics
Daniel Jaskowak, Virginia Tech, Sr., HNFE
Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech, Jr.-r, Biochemistry/Biology
Mackenzie Muldoon, Virginia Tech, Jr., HNFE
Drew Piazza, Virginia Tech, Sr., Civil Engineering
James Steck, Virginia Tech, Sr., Creative Writing & Lit./Language
Peter Seufer, Virginia Tech, Fr., Economics
Diego Zarate, Virginia Tech, So., Criminology
Robert Heppenstall, Wake Forest, So., Communication
Charlie Ionata, Wake Forest, Sr., Sociology

2017 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year:  Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech