2016 Softball All-ACC Teams Announced

Florida State’s Powers, Burroughs, and Alameda, Virginia Tech’s Duff earn individual honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – The 2016 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Teams and individual awards were announced today by the conference office, as voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches.

Florida State’s Alex Powers and Jessica Burroughs were named Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively, while the Seminoles’ Lonni Alameda was named Coach of the Year. Virginia Tech’s Lauren Duff was voted as Freshman of the Year.

A junior first baseman from Melbourne, Florida, Powers ranks in the top 10 in the league in 10 different categories, including ranking fifth with a .403 batting average, fourth with 55 runs scored, sixth with a .717 slugging percentage, and sixth with a .487 on-base percentage. A two-time ACC Player of the Week this season, she is the seventh different Seminole to be named ACC Player of the Year.

Burroughs is second in the ACC with 24 wins this season, and has posted a 2.08 earned run average to rank second in the league. A three-time ACC Pitcher of the Week who held opposing hitters to a .173 batting average this season, Burroughs threw her second career no-hitter in February and is the third straight Florida State pitcher to be named ACC Pitcher of the Year after Lacey Waldrop was honored the last two seasons.

Duff leads the Hokies with a .352 average and hit .421 in conference play. A freshman catcher from Chesapeake, Virginia, she ranks second in the league with 13 runners caught stealing for the season and is second with an .819 slugging percentage against ACC competition. Duff is the first Hokie in program in history to win ACC Freshman of the Year.

Alameda receives her fourth-straight ACC Coach of the Year honor as the Seminoles earned their fourth consecutive ACC regular season championship. The Seminoles, currently ranked No. 6 in the country, finished the regular season with a 45-8 record overall and were 21-2 in league play.

Ten schools are represented on the 2016 All-ACC Teams, led by Florida State with seven representatives. Boston College, Louisville, and Notre Dame had four players recognized apiece.

Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year: Alex Powers, Jr., 1B, Florida State
Pitcher of the Year: Jessica Burroughs, Jr., P, Florida State
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Duff, C, ‏Virginia Tech
Coach of the Year: Lonni Alameda, Florida State

All-ACC First Team
Tatiana Cortez, Jr., C, Boston College
Jessie Daulton, Sr., SS, Boston College
Jessica Burroughs, Jr., P, Florida State
Ellie Cooper, Jr., 2B, Florida State
Meghan King, Fr., P, Florida State
Morgan Klaevemann, So., OF Florida State
Alex Powers, Jr., 1B, Florida State
Jessica Warren, So., 3B, Florida State
Maryssa Becker, Jr., P, Louisville
Kristen Brown, Sr., SS, North Carolina
Kendra Lynch, Jr., P, North Carolina
Micaela Arizmendi, Sr., 1B, Notre Dame
Erin Hershman, So., OF, Pitt
Lauren Duff, Fr., C, Virginia Tech
Maggie Tyler, Sr., P, Virginia Tech

All-ACC Second Team
Jesse Dreswick, So., P, Boston College
Annie Murphy, So., OF, Boston College
Carsyn Gordon, Fr., OF, Florida State
Courtney Ziese, Sr., DH, Georgia Tech
Megan Hensley, Fr., DP, Louisville
Jordan McNary, Jr., OF, Louisville
Hailey Smith, Sr., 3B, Louisville
Taylor Wike, So., 2B, North Carolina
Molly Hutchison, Jr., C, NC State
Morgan Reed, So., SS, Notre Dame
Karley Wester, Jr., OF, Notre Dame
Ali Wester, Fr., 2B, Notre Dame
Jenna Modic, Sr., DP, Pitt
Maggie Sevilla, Sr., 2B, Pitt
Allison Davis, So, OF, Virginia