2016 NCAA Men’s Championship Starts Wednesday

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The McAuley Aquatic Center on the campus of Georgia Tech will play host to the 2016 NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships, which will take place Wednesday through Saturday. Preliminary events begin each day at 10 a.m., with finals held at 6 p.m.

ACC schools will be represented by 50 individuals and 21 relay squads having qualified for the event from 11 different league programs.  

NC State leads the way with 12 swimmers in action, while Louisville has nine swimmers and divers. The Wolfpack also enters the meet with the top qualifying time in the nation in four of the five relays. 

Five ACC teams are ranked in the CSCAA Poll entering the championship. NC State holds the highest spot at No. 7, followed by No. 13 Louisville, No. 18 North Carolina, No. 19 Duke, and No. 24 Virginia Tech. 

For the second time in program history, Georgia Tech and the McAuley Aquatic Center will serve as the host site for the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships. Georgia Tech previously hosted the 2006 NCAA Championships and the CRC was also the site of the 1996 Summer Olympics swimming and diving competitions.

Competition will begin Wednesday at 6 p.m. ET with the 800 free relay. Live results can be followed at http://www.swmeets.com/Realtime/NCAA/2016/. Additionally, fans can watch the action for Wednesday, Thursday and prelims Friday and Saturday at www.atlantaswimming.com/Webcast. Friday and Saturday’s finals will be streamed live on ESPN3.

For more information on the event, visit: http://theacc.co/21va153.

The full list of ACC qualifiers is below.

200 Medley Relay
400 Medley Relay
Evan Moretti (3M)
James Peek (50 FR)
Peter Kropp (100 BR)

Florida State
Dylan Grisell (1M, PL)
Jason Coombs (100 BR, 200 BR)

Georgia Tech
Alexander Kimpel (200 BR)
Bradley Homza (1M, PL)
Moises Loschi (200 BR)
Youssef Hammoud (100 FR)

200 Freestyle Relay
200 Medley Relay
400 Freestyle Relay
400 Medley Relay
800 Freestyle Relay
Aaron Green (200 BK)
Carlos Claverie (100 BR, 200 BR)
Grigory Tarasevich (100 BK, 200 BK)
Matthias Lindenbauer (200 FR)
Nolan Tesone (200 IM, 400 IM, 200 BK)
Pedro Coutinho (100 FL)
Sean Piner (1M, PL)
Trevor Carroll (200 FR)
Zach Harting (200 FL)

Briadam Herrera (1M, 3M)
Tanner Wilfong (PL)

North Carolina
200 Freestyle Relay
200 Medley Relay
400 Freestyle Relay
400 Medley Relay
800 Freestyle Relay
Ben Colley (200 IM, 200 FL)
Henry Campbell (500 FR)
Jack Nyquist (1M, 3M)
Nicolas Graesser (100 BK, 200 BK)
Ozzie Moyer (1M, 3M)
Samuel Lewis (50 FR, 100 FL)

NC State
200 Freestyle Relay
200 Medley Relay
400 Freestyle Relay
400 Medley Relay
800 Freestyle Relay
Adam Linker (1650 FR)
Andreas Schillerup (50 FR, 100 BK)
Anton Oerskov Ipsen (500 FR, 1650 FR)
Austin Snyder (400 IM)
Christian McCurdy (400 IM, 200 FL)
Derek Hren (100 BR)
Hennessey Stuart (100 BK, 200 BK)
Joseph Bonk (50 FR, 100 FR)
Justin Ress (200 IM, 200 BK)
Ryan Held (50 FR, 200 FR, 100 FR)
Simonas Bilis (50 FR, 200 FR, 100 FR)
Soeren Dahl (200 IM, 200 FR, 100 FR)

Notre Dame
200 Freestyle Relay
400 Freestyle Relay
800 Freestyle Relay
Justin Plaschka (100 FL, 100 FR)

Dominic Giordano (1M, 3M, PL)

Yannick Kaeser (100 BR, 200 BR)
Zachary Fong (200 FL)

Virginia Tech
400 Medley Relay
Benjamin Schiesl (1M, 3M, PL)
Brandan Fiala (200 IM, 100 BR, 200 BR)
Eduardo Castro (3M, PL)
Logan Stevens (1M, PL)
Lucas Bureau (200 FR)
Mauro Silva (1M, 3M, PL)
Norbert Szabo (200 FL)
Robert Owen (400 IM, 200 BK)