2016 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team Announced

North Carolina leads with six selections to 2016 squad

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Regular-season champion North Carolina leads the way with six selections on the 2016 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Team, as voted upon by the league’s head coaches and announced on Wednesday. 
The Tar Heels, who own a 13-2 overall record and carry the No. 1 seed into this week’s ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship, placed attackers Molly Hendrick and Sammy Jo Tracy, midfielder Marie McCool and defender Mallory Frysinger on the first team. Attacker Aly Messinger and goalkeeper Caylee Waters were second-team selections.
Other first-team selections include Norte Dame attacker Courtney Fortunato and defender Barbara Sullivan, Syracuse attacker Kayla Treanor, Boston College midfielder Sarah Mannelly, Duke midfielder Madison Crutchfield, defender Maura Schwitter and goalkeeper Kelsea Duryea, and Louisville midfielder Kaylin Morissette.
Rounding out the second team are Boston College attacker Kenzie Kent, Duke attacker Kyra Harney, Notre Dame attacker Rachel Sexton, midfielder Casey Pearsall and defender Stephanie Toy, Virginia attacker Kasey Behr, midfielder Mary Altai and defender Maggie Preas, Louisville defender Cortnee Daley and Syracuse defender Mallory Vehar.
The team includes eight of the league’s top 10 scores in Notre Dame’s Fortunato (4.59 points per game), Syracuse’s Treanor (4.25), Boston College’s Kent (3.62), UNC’s Hendrick (3.60), Duke’s Harney (3.56), Boston College’s Mannelly (3.56), Notre Dame’s Sexton (3.12) and Louisville’s Morissette (3.07).
Also featured are the league’s top five leaders in assists: Syracuse’s Treanor (1.75 per game), Boston College’s Kent (1.62) and Mannelly (1.56), North Carolina’s Messinger (1.47) and Notre Dame’s Fortunato (1.41).
Treanor (8.94), Morissette (8.47) and Tracy (6.33) lead the ACC in draw controls per game.
The ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship will be played this weekend at Virginia Tech’s Lane Stadium. Thursday’s first round games feature the top-seeded Tar Heels facing No. 8 seed Virginia Tech at Noon, while No. 4 seed Duke will meet No. 5 seed Virginia at 2:30 p.m. The evening games start with No. 2 seed Syracuse taking on No. 7 seed Boston College at 5 p.m. and No. 3 seed Notre Dame playing No. 6 seed Louisville at 7:30 p.m. The semifinals will be played at 5 and 7:30 p.m. on Friday, with those winners meeting on Sunday at 1 p.m. for the ACC Championship and the league’s automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament. All seven games of the tournament will be broadcast on the ACC’s Regional Sports Networks and will be available on ESPN3. (Click for complete coverage information.)

Individual awards, including Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the ACC Championship.
2016 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team 
First Team 
Molly Hendrick, Jr., North Carolina, Attack 
Sammy Jo Tracy, Sr., North Carolina, Attack
Cortney Fortunato, Jr., Notre Dame, Attack
Kayla Treanor, Sr., Syracuse, Attack 
Sarah Mannelly, Sr., Boston College, Midfield
Madison Crutchfield, So., Duke, Midfield
Kaylin Morissette, Sr., Louisville, Midfield
Marie McCool, So., North Carolina, Midfield
Maura Schwitter, Jr., Duke, Defense
Mallory Frysinger, Sr., North Carolina, Defense
Barbara Sullivan, GS, Notre Dame, Defense
Kelsey Duryea, Sr., Duke, Goalie
Second Team 
Kenzie Kent, So., Boston College, Attack
Kyra Harney, So., Duke, Attack
Aly Messinger, Sr., North Carolina, Attack
Rachel Sexton, Sr., Notre Dame, Attack
Kasey Behr, So., Virginia, Attack
Cortnee Daley, Sr., Louisville, Midfield
Casey Pearsall, Jr., Notre Dame, Midfield
Mary Alati, Sr., Virginia, Midfield 
Stephanie Toy, Sr., Notre Dame, Defense
Mallory Vehar, Sr., Syracuse, Defense
Maggie Preas, Jr., Virginia Defense
Caylee Waters, Jr., North Carolina, Goalie