2016 All-ACC Academic Women’s Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

Notre Dame’s Seidel recognized as sport’s ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Notre Dame senior distance runner Molly Seidel has been recognized as the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The 2016 NCAA champion in both the women’s 3,000 and 5,000 meters, Seidel was named the USTFCCCA Indoor Track National Athlete of the Year and was voted the ACC Women’s Track Performer of the Year by the league’s head coaches. Seidel’s winning time of 15:15.21 in the NCAA finals broke her own ACC record by more than four seconds and was the third-fastest in NCAA women’s history. Less than 24 hours after that record-setting perfomance, Seidel took first place in the 3,000 meters with a time of 8:57.86.

Named to the Bowerman Trophy watch list, Seidel pushed her career national title total to four following her first-place finish in the NCAA women’s outdoor 10,000 meters last June and her NCAA cross country championship last November. Her 2015-16 indoor season also included a dual-gold medal performance at the ACC Championships in Boston on Feb. 26 and 27, where she set a meet record and a short-lived ACC record of 15:19.64 in the 5K, followed by a meet-record 9:02.24 in the 3K.

An anthropology major from Hartland, Wisconsin, Seidel earned a place on the Notre Dame’s Dean’s List for the 2015 fall semester. A three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team, Seidel was also named the 2015 ACC Women’s Cross Country Scholar Athlete of the Year.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September of 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers, as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team. The 2015-16 All-ACC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Academic Team features 43 student-athletes that earned All-America and/or All-ACC honors this past season.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

The complete 2016 Women’s Indoor Track and Field All-ACC Academic Team:

Name, School                                           Class   Major
Liv Westphal, Boston College                      Jr.    Administrative Studies
Danielle Winslow, Boston College              Jr.    Chemistry
Grace Barnett, Clemson                              So.    Elementary Education
Olivia Anderson, Duke                                 Sr.    Intl. Comparative Studies/Romance Studies
Anima Banks, Duke                                      Sr.    Political Science
Megan Clark, Duke                                       Sr.    Psychology
Madison Heath, Duke                                  So.    Psychology
Karli Johonnot, Duke                                    Gr.    Master of Liberal Studies
MacKenzie Kerr, Duke                                  Fr.    Undeclared
Madeline Kopp, Duke                                   Jr.    Global Cultural Studies
Maddie Morrow, Duke                                 Sr.    History/Sociology
Shaquania Dorsett, Florida State               Fr.    Biochemistry
Melissa Maree-Farrington, Florida State   Fr.    Social Sciences
Chelsea Jarvis, Florida State                        So.   Actuarial Science
Kellion Knibb, Florida State                         Jr.    Editing, Writing & Media
Nicole Setterington, Florida State              Jr.    Exercise Science
Peta-Gay Williams, Florida State                Fr.    Psychology
Kenya Collins, Georgia Tech                        Jr.    Biology
Bria Matthews, Georgia Tech                      Fr.   Computer Engineering
Carissa Tipler, Georgia Tech                        Jr.    Business Administration
Kelsey Cramsey, Louisville                           Sr.    Exercise Science
Raven Grant, Louisville                                 Fr.    Biology
Holly Hankenson, Louisville                         So.   Pre-Business
Chanel Krause, Louisville                              Jr.    Exercise Science
Dolly Nyemah, Louisville                              Sr.    Social Work
Bre’Yana Wash, Louisville                             Jr.    Exercise Science
Dakota Dailey-Harris, Miami                        Sr.   Sport Administration
Tiffany Okieme, Miami                                  Sr.   Psychology
Ebony Morrison, Miami                                 Jr.    Motion Pictures
Brittny Ellis, Miami                                         Fr.    Nursing
Emily Godwin, North Carolina                      Jr.    Business Administration
Nicole Greene, North Carolina                     Fr.   Exercise and Sport Science
Sarah Howard, North Carolina                     Sr.   Biology/Religious Studies
Tory Kemp, North Carolina                            Sr.   Nursing
Erika Kemp, NC State                                      Jr.    Psychology/Foreign Languages & Literature
Megan Moye, NC State                                   Sr.   Communications
Danielle Aragon, Notre Dame                       Sr.    Science-Business
Margaret Bamgbose, Notre Dame               Sr.    Information Technology Management
Jessica Harris, Notre Dame                            So.   Undeclared
Jamie Marvil, Notre Dame                              Jr.     Accountancy
Molly Seidel, Notre Dame                              Sr.    Anthropology
Jordan Shead, Notre Dame                           So.    Classics
Kailyn Clancy, Pitt                                            Fr.    College of General Studies
Andin Fosam, Pitt                                            So.   Molecular Biology
Shaina Harrison, Syracuse                             Sr.    Psychology
Sydney Leiher, Syracuse                                 Jr.    Sport Administration
Christine Bohan, Virginia                                Jr.    Mechanical Engineering
Peyton Chaney, Virginia                                 Sr.    Sociology
Iona Lake, Virginia                                           Sr.    Educational Psychology
Hanna Green, Virginia Tech                           Jr.    Interior Design
Erica Hjerpe, Virginia Tech                             Jr.    ECAS
Samantha Jones, Wake Forest                      Sr.    Communication

2016 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Molly Seidel, Notre Dame