2016 All-ACC Academic Women's Golf Team Announced

Miami’s Daniela Darquea named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Miami’s Daniela Darquea, the Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and Duke’s Virginia Elena Carta, the 2016 NCAA Individual Champion, head up the 2016 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

A three-time member of the All-ACC Women’s Golf Team, Darquea finished among the top 10 at both this year’s ACC Championship and NCAA Regional.  The junior from Ecuador earned WGCA All-Region honors and was honorable mention All-America. Darquea tallied seven top-10 finishes for the season and was second on the team with a 72.2 round average.

Darquea, who is pursuing an exercise physiology degree with a minor in sports medicine, has been named to the Miami Athletic Director’s Honor Roll six times and has earned “Book Buster” citation from the university six times as well. She has been named to the Dean’s List at the end of five semesters and has earned Provost Honor Roll status (3.75 GPA or higher) three times.

In addition to Darquea and Carta, eight other golfers who earned All-ACC honors this season secured spots on the academic honors team: Duke’s Leona Maguire, Celine Boutier and Sandy Choi, Clemson’s Alice Hewson, Florida State’s Matilda Castren and Kim Metraux, Louisville’s Laura Restrepo and Notre Dame’s Talia Campbell.

Carta and Maguire were both first-team All-America selections by the WGCA. Darquea and Choi, as well as Virginia’s Elizabeth Szokol and Miami’s Dewi Weber, were honorable mention All-Americans by the WGCA.

Duke’s Boutier was named to the All-Academic team for the fourth time in her career, while Darquea, Choi, Miami’s Delfina Acosta and Notre Dame’s Campbell were honored for the third time.

NCAA semifinalist Duke led the way with five honorees, while Florida State placed four on the honors team. Clemson, Louisville, Miami and North Carolina claimed three players each, while Notre Dame and ACC champion Virginia had two, and NC State and Wake Forest one each.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

The 2016 All-ACC Academic Women’s Golf team is as follows:

Delfina Acosta, Jr., Miami, Art
Emma Albrecht, Fr., Notre Dame, Science & Business
Sarah Bae, Jr., NC State, Communications
Celine Boutier, Sr., Duke, Psychology
Talia Campbell, Sr., Notre Dame, Finance
Virginia Elena Carta, Fr., Duke, Undeclared
Olivia Cason, Fr., Louisville, Undeclared
Matilda Castren, Jr., Florida State, International Affairs
Sandy Choi, Jr, Duke, Psychology
Leslie Cloots, Jr., North Carolina, Business Administration
Daniella Darquea, Jr., Miami, Exercise Physiology
Antonia Eberhard, Fr., Wake Forest, Undeclared
Lydia Gumm, Jr., Florida State, Sport Management
Lexi Harkins, Jr., North Carolina, Mathematics
Erica Herr, So., Wake Forest, Communications
Alice Hewson, Fr., Clemson, Pre-Business
Leona Maguire, So., Duke, Psychology
Elizabeth Mallett, Sr., North Carolina, Communication Studies
Marisa Messana, So., Clemson, Communications
Kim Metraux, So., Florida State, Management
Morgane Metraux, So., Florida State, Management
Katie Mitchell, Sr., Louisville, Communications
Anna Redding, Fr., Virginia, Undeclared
Laura Restrepo, Sr., Louisville, Finance
Gurbani Singh, So., Duke, Public Policy Studies
Lauren Stephenson, Fr., Clemson, Sport Communications
Elizabeth Szokol, Sr., Virginia, Psychology
Dewi Weber, Fr., Miami, Motion Picture/Advertising

ACC Women’s Golf Scholar Athlete of the Year:
2016, Daniela Darquea, Miami
2015, Celine Boutier, Duke
2014, Brittany Marchand, NC State
2013, Lindy Duncan, Duke
2012, Lindy Duncan, Duke
2011, Natalie Sheary, Wake Forest
2010, Alison Whitaker, Duke
2009, Amanda Blumenherst, Duke
2008, Amanda Blumenherst, Duke