2016 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team Announced

North Carolina’s Emma Bozek Named Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year
GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina senior Emma Bozek has been named the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year and leads the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.
A business administration major from Cortlandt Manor, New York, Bozek returned to the field in 2016 after a year on the sidelines following lung surgery. In her return, she started all 26 games and helped lead the Tar Heels to a runner-up finish in the NCAA Championship. She was named to the NFHCA All-America Second Team and to the All-ACC Team. 
Bozek and Virginia’s Caleigh Foust have been named to the All-ACC Academic team four times in their careers. Duke’s Ashley Kristen, Syracuse’s Laura Hurff, and Louisville’s Lotta Kahlert earned their third career league academic accolade. 
All seven ACC schools that compete in field hockey are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, led by Duke with seven players.
Ten players on the All-ACC Academic Team were named All-Americans following the 2016 season, while 14 were voted All-ACC.
The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.
Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.
The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.
2016 ACC Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Emma Bozek, Sr., North Carolina (Business Administration )

2016 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team
Audra Hampsch, R-Jr. ., Boston College (Film Studies)
Frederique Haverhals, So., Boston College (Undeclared)@
Lucinda Lytle, So., Boston College (Undeclared)
Ymke Rose Gote, So., Boston College (Economics)
Aisling Naughton, Gr., Duke (Business-Management Studies)
Alyssa Chillano, Jr., Duke (Psychology)
Ashley Kristen, Jr., Duke (Psychology)#
Heather Morris, Sr., Duke (Earth & Ocean Sciences)@
Margaux Paolino , Fr. , Duke (Undeclared)
Robin Blazing, Sr., Duke (Spanish/Biology)@
Samantha Steele, R-Fr., Duke (Undeclared)
Erin McCrudden, Sr., Louisville (Health and Human Performance - Exercise Science)@
Lotta Kahlert, Sr., Louisville (Sports Administration & Health and Human Performance - Exercise Science)#
Marigrace Ragsdale, Jr., Louisville (Finance)
Nicole Woods, Jr., Louisville (Middle/Secondary Education)@
Shannon Sloss, Sr., Louisville (Health and Human Performance - Exercise Science)@
Emma Bozek, R-Sr., North Carolina (Business Administration )%
Malin Evert, So., North Carolina (Sociology )@
Ashley Hoffman, So., North Carolina (Exercise and Sport Science )
Samantha Night, Jr., North Carolina (Public Policy )@
Julia Young, Sr., North Carolina (Exercise and Sport Science )@
Elaine Carey, Gr., Syracuse (Nutrition Science)
Laura Hurff, Jr., Syracuse (Health & Exercise Science)#
Elise Lagerweij, Jr., Syracuse (Sport Management)
Emma Lamison, Sr., Syracuse (Bio Science)@
Regan Spencer, Sr., Syracuse (Broadcast and Digital Journalism with a Global Security Studies minor.)
Caleigh Foust, Sr., Virginia (Media Studies)%
Carrera Lucas, So., Virginia (Media Studies)
Dominique van Slooten, Fr. , Virginia (Undeclared)
Jessy Silfer, Sr., Wake Forest (Health & Exercise Science)@
Julianne Grashoff, So., Wake Forest (Undeclared)@
Megan Anderson, So., Wake Forest (Undeclared)@
Nicola Pluta, Fr. , Wake Forest (Undeclared)
Sarah Thornhill, Sr., Wake Forest (Mathematical Economics)@
Veerle Bos, So., Wake Forest (Undeclared)
@ Two-time honoree 
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree