2016 ACC Softball Championship Bracket Set

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State holds the top seed for the 2016 ACC Softball Championship, set to begin Thursday, May 12, at NC State’s Dail Softball Stadium in Raleigh, North Carolina.

The defending champion Seminoles (45-8, 21-2 ACC), who are ranked No. 5 in the country this week, will open play at the 2016 championship on Thursday at 11 a.m. against eighth-seeded Pitt (31-20, 8-14). The Panthers advanced to the ACC Championship last year as the No. 6 seed before falling to Florida State, 6-2, in the title game. 

Fourth-seeded Boston College (30-22, 12-9) will face fifth-seeded North Carolina (30-22, 13-11) at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday. The Tar Heels took two of three from the Eagles in April in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.

Louisville (34-14, 15-8) earned the No. 2 seed and will play seventh-seeded Syracuse (27-25, 9-14) on Thursday at 5 p.m. The Cardinals won two of three over the Orange in late April. 

In the final quarterfinal on Thursday, third-seeded Notre Dame (39-10, 13-7) will take on sixth-seeded Virginia Tech (29-27, 13-11) at 7:30 p.m. The Irish, who are ranked 21st in the country this week, swept the Hokies in April. 

ACC fans will be able to watch all seven games of the championship as Thursday’s and Friday’s contests will be televised by the league’s Regional Sports Networks, and Saturday’s title game will be carried live on ESPN.

Daily tickets are available for $5 for adults and $3 for youth 18 and under, while tournament passes are available in advance of the tournament for $9. Students from an ACC school can enter for free with valid student identification. Tickets can be purchased online: http://theacc.co/sb16tix.

Parking for the 2016 ACC Softball Championship is free and available in the Coliseum Deck located on Cates Avenue across the street from the Derr Track & the Soccer Field. Patrons will need to park on the second level of the deck or higher by entering off Jeter Drive or Jensen Drive.

For additional information on the 2016 ACC Softball Championship, visit http://theacc.co/sb16champ.