2016 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Individual Honors Announced

Notre Dame’s Matt Landis and Syracuse’s John Desko repeat as Defensive Player and Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Duke senior midfielder Myles Jones has been named the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year, and Notre Dame senior defenseman Matt Landis repeats as Defensive Player of the Year. Notre Dame freshman attacker Ryder Garnsey is this year’s Freshman of the Year, and Syracuse’s John Desko is the ACC Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Jones, a three-time All-ACC selection, ranks second in overall points with 65 on 32 points and 33 assists and third in the ACC with 3.82 points per game. In league games, he led the ACC with nine goals and 13 assists. He posted an ACC single-game season-high 11 points against North Carolina on April 1, and recently became the first midfielder in Division I lacrosse history to record 100 career assists and 100 career goals. 

Notre Dame’s Landis is the first player to repeat as Defensive Player of the Year since the award’s inception in 2012. He has led the Irish defense to hold the nation’s seventh-best scoring defense, limiting its opponents to 7.55 goals per game. He leads Notre Dame with 15 caused turnovers this season and owns 27 ground balls. 

Fighting Irish rookie attackman Garnsey has played in all 12 games and leads all ACC freshmen with 27 points on 19 goals and eight assists. He totaled nine goals and four assists in league action, including a five goal performance against Syracuse on April 2. 

Desko’s Syracuse squad posted a 2-2 record in ACC play, and went on to capture a second straight ACC Championship following wins over North Carolina (10-7) and Duke (14-8).  As the ACC’s automatic qualifier in this year’s NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship, the Orange will be making its 36th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 17th under Desko’s watch. This is Desko’s third conference coach of the year honor as he was also named the Big East Coach of the Year following the 2011 season. 

2016 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Individual Honors 
Offensive Player of the Year: Myles Jones, Sr., M, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Landis, Sr., D, Notre Dame
Freshman of the Year: Ryder Garnsey, Fr., A, Notre Dame
Coach of the Year: John Desko, Syracuse