2015 U.S. Open Field Includes 15 ACC Golfers

Play gets underway today

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Fifteen golfers from ACC schools will tee off today at the 115th U.S. Open Championship at Chambers Bay in University Place, Washington. Six different league programs will be represented at the championship.

Two of the last six U.S. Open champions played in the ACC, with Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson winning in 2012 and Clemson’s Lucas Glover in 2009. 

Seven players from current ACC schools have won the championship in the past. The group has combined for 11 U.S. Open titles and includes Clemson’s Glover, Florida State’s Hubert Green, Georgia Tech’s Bobby Jones, North Carolina’s Raymond Floyd, and Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer, Curtis Strange, and Simpson.

Play gets underway Thursday at 10 a.m. ET.

Former ACC Golfers at the 2015 U.S. Open
Lucas Glover, Clemson
Ben Martin, Clemson
Sam Saunders, Clemson
Jack Maguire, Florida State
George McNeill, Florida State
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Garth Mulroy, NC State
Steve Marino, Virginia
Denny McCarthy, Virginia
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest