2015 All-ACC Volleyball Teams Announced

Louisville sweeps individual awards

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Louisville senior setter Katie George has been selected as the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Player and Setter of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Volleyball Team, announced Wednesday.

The Cardinals took all five major awards, as freshman libero Molly Sauer was named both Defensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year and Anne Kordes earned Coach of the Year honors. The awards were decided based on a vote of the league’s 15 head coaches.

Louisville swept the ACC Volleyball individual awards for the first time since 2006 when Duke swept Player, Freshman and Coach of the Year honors.

George led the conference in assists, averaging 12.13 per set and leading a Louisville offense that was second in the conference in hitting percentage and first in kills per set. She is the first student-athlete from Louisville to win Player of the Year since the Cardinals joined the conference in 2014 and is the second recipient of the Setter of the Year honor since its inception in 2014.

Sauer became the first player in ACC Volleyball history to earn both Defensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors in the same season. The Cardinals ranked second in the conference in digs behind her defensive leadership and helped Louisville clinch at least a share of the 2015 ACC Volleyball title. Sauer also earned ACC Freshman of the Week honors twice during the 2015 season.

Louisville’s Kordes led the Cardinals to a 24-5 overall and an 18-1 ACC record with one match remaining in the 2015 season. In her sixth year at the helm of the Louisville program, Kordes earned her first ACC Coach of the Year award and third conference honor overall after being named the American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year in 2013 and the Big East Coach of the Year in 2012. Under her guidance during the 2015 campaign, Louisville saw four players named to the All-ACC teams and earned a ranking as high as No. 15 in the AVCA poll.

Twelve different schools are represented on the All-ACC Team, led by Florida State, Louisville and Miami with four selections. Three student-athletes were recognized from Duke and North Carolina, followed by two from Pitt, Syracuse and Virginia and one from Boston College, Georgia Tech, Notre Dame and Virginia Tech.

Sauer headlines the All-Freshman Team and is joined by Duke’s Leah Meyer, Florida State’s Brianne Burkert, Louisville teammate Aniah Philo, NC State’s Blayke Hranicka, Notre Dame’s Meg Morningstar, Syracuse’s Santita Ebangwese, Virginia’s Anna Walsh and Virginia Tech’s Jaila Tolbert.

The ACC Volleyball season wraps up this weekend. The teams will await NCAA tournament selections on Sunday, November 29 at at 9 p.m. on ESPNU.

2015 ACC Volleyball Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Katie George, Sr., S, Louisville
Defensive Player of the Year: Molly Sauer, Fr., L, Louisville
Setter of the Year: Katie George, Sr., S, Louisville
Freshman of the Year: Molly Sauer, Fr., L, Louisville
Coach of the Year: Anne Kordes, Louisville

2015 All-ACC Volleyball First Team
Emily Sklar *# Sr. OH Duke
Jordan Tucker ! Jr. MB Duke
Nicole Walch *# Sr. OH Florida State
Sarah Burrington ! Jr.-R MB Florida State
Teegan Van Gunst Jr. OH Georgia Tech
Erin Fairs * Sr. OH Louisville
Katie George ! Sr. S Louisville
Paige Neuenfeldt *# Sr. MH North Carolina
Victoria McPherson # Sr. MH North Carolina
Taylor Treacy Jr.-R OH/OPP North Carolina
Kadi Kullerkann GS OPP/OH Pitt
Amanda Orchard ! Sr. MH Pitt
Silvi Uattara ! Sr. OH Syracuse
Lauren Fuller # Virginia

2015 All-ACC Volleyball Second Team
Katty Workman Sr. OH Boston College
Sasha Karelov ! Jr. DS/L Duke
Milica Kubura So. OH Florida State
Katie Horton ! Jr. OH Florida State
Tess Clark ! So. MB/OPP Louisville
Janelle Jenkins ! Jr. OH/MB Louisville
Olga Strantzali So. OH Miami
Taylor Scott Sr. OH Miami
Alexis Mourning Sr. MB Miami
Haley Templeton ! So. S Miami
Sam Fry So. OH Notre Dame
Gosia Wlaszczuk Sr. S/RS Syracuse
Natalie Bausback Sr. MH Virginia
Lindsey Owens ! Jr. OH Virginia Tech

2015 All-ACC Freshman Team
Leah Meyer MB Duke
Brianne Burkert S Florida State
Molly Sauer L Louisville
Aniah Philo OH Louisville
Blayke Hranicka MB NC State
Meg Morningstar MB Notre Dame
Santita Ebangwese MB Syracuse
Anna Walsh MH Virginia
Jaila Tolbert MB/RS Virginia Tech

! – Two-time selection
# - Three-time selection
*- Unanimous selection