2015 All-ACC Softball Honors Announced

ND’s Koerner tabbed Player of the Year, FSU’s Waldrop, Warren and Alameda earn recognition

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – The 2015 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Teams and individual awards were announced today by the conference office, as voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches.

Notre Dame’s Emilee Koerner was named the ACC Player of the Year, while the Seminoles’ Lacey Waldrop, Jessica Warren and Lonni Alameda were named Pitcher of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Koerner became the 14th conference player of the year selection, and 11th different player overall to receive the distinction, in the 27-year history of the Notre Dame softball program. She led all ACC players with a .493 average, 35 hits and 28 runs scored in 23 league games. She added the third-most total bases (60) and doubles (8), and the fourth-highest slugging percentage (.845), on-base percentage (.537) and fourth-most RBI (26) in the ACC as the primary number two batter in the Notre Dame lineup.

Waldrop posted a 13-2 record with a 1.37 ERA and two saves in conference play this season as she allowed teams to hit just .169 against her. She leads the ACC in overall wins (27), ERA (1.33) and opponent batting average (1.56), while also ranking in the top three in strikeouts (212) and innings pitched (194.1). On May 3, Waldrop became Florida State’s all-time wins leader as she earned her 108th career victory at North Florida. Her 108 wins also ranks third all-time in ACC history as she also sits in the conference career top-10 for innings pitched (842.2 – 9th) and strikeouts (897 – 10th).

Warren is the seventh Seminole to be named ACC Freshman of the Year and the first since Monica Montez in 2007. She led the Seminoles in eight different categories, including runs scored (46), hits (60), home runs (16), RBI (48) and slugging percentage (.713). Against ACC opponents, Warren batted .403 (29-for-72) with nine home runs and 26 runs batted in. She also hit three doubles with six walks and 22 runs scored in 23 conference games.

Alameda receives her third-straight ACC Coach of the Year honor in 2015 as the Seminoles earned their third consecutive ACC regular season championship. Florida State earned a record of 20-3 versus conference opponents this season, and Alameda has only lost eight total ACC games since 2013. By earning the conference’s top coaching honor in 2013, 2014 and 2015, Alameda becomes just the second head coach to be named ACC Coach of the Year three consecutive times, joining Georgia Tech’s Sharon Perkins (2009-11).

Ten schools were represented on the 2014 All-ACC Teams, led by Florida State and Notre Dame with six representatives apiece. North Carolina had four, while Louisville, NC State and Pitt had three honorees each. Syracuse had two while Boston College, Georgia Tech and Virginia Tech each had one representative.

Individual Award Winners

Player of the Year – Emilee Koerner, Notre Dame
Pitcher of the Year – Lacey Waldrop, Florida State
Freshman of the Year – Jessica Warren, Florida State
Coach of the Year – Lonni Alameda, Florida State

All-ACC First Team

Renada Davis, Sr., SS, NC State
Lacey Waldrop, Sr., P, Florida State
Jessica Warren, Fr., INF, Florida State
Emilee Koerner, Sr., OF, Notre Dame
Kristen Brown, Jr., SS, North Carolina
Taylor Wike, Fr., INF, North Carolina
Morgan Klaevemann, Fr., OF, Florida State
Emily Weiman, Sr., P, NC State
Karley Wester, So., OF, Notre Dame
Kelsi Jones, Sr., OF, Louisville
Jenna Modic, Jr., P/INF, Pitt
Maryssa Becker, So., P/1B, Louisville
Micaela Arizmendi, Jr., INF, Notre Dame
Whitney Arion, Sr., SS, Louisville
Katey Haus, Sr., INF, Notre Dame

All-ACC Second Team

Corinne Ozanne, Jr., INF, Syracuse
Tyler Ross, So., OF, NC State
Maddie O’Brien, Sr., SS, Florida State
Amber Parrish, Sr., C/INF, North Carolina
Maddie Lionberger, Jr., 2B, Georgia Tech
Rachel Nasland, So., P, Notre Dame
Ellie Cooper, So., INF, Florida State
McKayla Taylor, Fr., INF, Pitt
Jessica Burroughs, So., P, Florida State
Maddi Doane, Fr., OF, Syracuse
Morgan Reed, Fr., INF, Notre Dame
Lauren Walker, Sr., INF, North Carolina
Kylie McGoldrick, Sr., 2B, Virginia Tech
Shelby Pickett, Jr., C/INF, Pitt
Megan Cooley, Jr., OF, Boston College