2015 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Teams Announced

Clemson and Wake Forest collect individual honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Wake Forest and Clemson, the top two-ranked teams in the nation, collected all five Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer individual awards for the 2015 season, as voted upon by the ACC’s 12 head coaches and announced on Tuesday. 

Wake Forest’s Jack Harrison was named the Offensive Player of the Year and the Freshman of the Year, while head coach Bobby Muuss was named the ACC Coach of the Year. Clemson’s Paul Clowes and Kyle Fisher were voted as Midfielder and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively. 

Harrison spearheaded a Demon Deacon offensive attack that leads the nation in assists and points per game and ranks second in scoring offense. Individually, the freshman midfielder from Bolton, England, leads the ACC in assists per game (0.61) and points per game (1.5), and ranks third in the nation with 11 total assists on the season. The 2015 Gatorade National Boy’s Soccer Player of the Year, Harrison is the first player in league history to be named Player and Freshman of the Year in the same season.

Clowes has started all 18 games for the Tigers and led all field players on the team in minutes played. A senior captain from Chesire, United Kingdom, he orchestrated a Clemson squad that ranks fourth in the country in goals scored and seventh in goals allowed, one of only two teams to be ranked in the top 10 of both categories. 

Fisher leads a Tiger defense that has only given up 11 goals on the season to rank seventh in the nation with 0.60 allowed per game.  A senior defender from Easley, South Carolina, he and the Clemson defense have allowed multiple goals in a game only once this season and have shut out opponents eight times. Fisher is the first Tiger to win the league’s defensive award since Nathan Sturgis in 2005.

In his first season as head coach in Winston-Salem, Muuss has taken a program that was unranked in the preseason and picked to finish third in the Atlantic Division to the consensus No. 1 ranking in the national polls. Wake Forest has been atop the NCAA RPI since the end of September, holds a 15-1-2 record, and is currently riding a 12-game unbeaten streak. It is the first time a Demon Deacon has won the award since Jay Vidovich in 2009 and the seventh time overall. Muuss is the fourth coach in ACC history to garner the accolade in his first year with a program, joining North Carolina’s Anson Dorrance (1977) and Carlos Somoano (2011), and Virginia’s George Gelnovatch (1996).

Clemson and Wake Forest lead all league programs with six All-ACC selections. North Carolina had five players recognized, followed by Virginia with four honorees.

The 2015 ACC Men’s Soccer Championship continues on Wednesday, Nov. 11, with a pair of semifinal matches. No. 1 seed Wake Forest will host No. 4 Notre Dame, and No. 3 Clemson will welcome No. 7 Syracuse in the second semifinal. Both matches will be at 7 p.m. and will be streamed live on ESPN3. 

Offensive Player of the Year - Jack Harrison, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Midfielder of the Year - Paul Clowes, Sr., M, Clemson
Defensive Player of the Year - Kyle Fisher, Sr., D, Clemson
Freshman of the Year - Jack Harrison, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Coach of the Year – Bobby Muuss, Wake Forest

2015 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Team

First Team
Andrew Tarbell, Jr., GK, Clemson
Kyle Fisher, Sr., D, Clemson
Paul Clowes, Sr., M, Clemson
TJ Casner, Sr., F, Clemson
Zach Mathers, Sr., M, Duke
Tim Kubel, So., D, Louisville
Jonathan Campbell, Sr., D, North Carolina
Julian Buescher, So., M, Syracuse
Ian Harkes, Jr., M, Wake Forest
Jack Harrison, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Jacori Hayes, Jr., M, Wake Forest

Second Team
Zeiko Lewis, Jr., M, Boston College
Zach Knudson, So., M, NC State
Alan Winn, So., F, North Carolina
Omar Holness, Jr., F, North Carolina
Raby George, Sr., M, North Carolina
Max Lachowecki, Gr., D, Notre Dame
Patrick Hodan, Sr., M, Notre Dame
Jake Rozhansky, So., M, Virginia
Todd Wharton, Sr., M, Virginia
Alec Ferrell, Jr., GK, Wake Forest
Michael Gamble, Sr., M, Wake Forest

Third Team
Lennart Zeugner, So., D, Boston College
Iman Mafi, Jr., D, Clemson
Oliver Shannon, So., M, Clemson
Jeremy Ebobisse, So., F, Duke
Daniel Johnson, Jr., M, Louisville
Tucker Hume, Jr., F, North Carolina
Jon Gallagher, So., F, Notre Dame
Oyvind Alseth, Jr., M, Syracuse
Edward Opoku, Fr., F, Virginia
Jeff Caldwell, So., GK, Virginia
Jon Bakero, So., F, Wake Forest

All-Freshman Team
Simon Enstrom, Fr., F, Boston College
Patrick Bunk-Andersen, Fr., D, Clemson
Tate Schmitt, Fr., F, Louisville
Julius Duchsherer, Fr., M, NC State
Alex Comsia, Fr., D, North Carolina
Kamal Miller, Fr., D, Syracuse
Miles Robinson, Fr., D, Syracuse
Derrick Etienne, Fr., M, Virginia
Edward Opoku, Fr., F, Virginia
Brad Dunwell, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Jack Harrison, Fr., M, Wake Forest