2015 All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Academic Team Announced

Syracuse’s Kevin Rice named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Syracuse senior Kevin Rice has been named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Monday by Commissioner John Swofford. 

A history major, Rice was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Championship Most Valuable Player after helping the Orange to its first ACC title. Rice was a United States Intercollegiate Athletic Association All-America First Team selection and Tewaaraton Award finalist for the 2015 season in which he started in all 16 games and led the team in points (84) and assists (48). The Skaneateles, N.Y., native earned Capital One Academic All-America At-Large First Team honors, and closed his career seventh on Syracuse's career assists ledger (126) and 12th on the program's all-time scoring list with 222 points (96 goals, 126 assists). He plans to attend law school at Wake Forest University this fall.

Rice, who earned his second career ACC academic honor, is the first from Syracuse to be named the ACC Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year. 

All five of the league’s men’s lacrosse programs are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, led by Duke with nine selections. Notre Dame followed with eight student-athletes on team, Syracuse with seven, North Carolina with six and Virginia with three. 

North Carolina’s Jake Bailey and Virginia’s Owen  Van Arsdale each earned their fourth All-ACC Academic Team honors, while Duke’s Deemer Class and Virginia’s Ryan Tucker are three-time selections. 

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.
To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kevin Rice, Syracuse

2015 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team 
Deemer Class (3), Jr., Sociology, Duke
Brian Dailey, Sr., Sociology, Duke
Brian Dunne, So., Sociology, Duke
Justin Guterding, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Will Haus (2), Sr., Sociology, Duke
Kyle Rowe, So., Sociology, Duke
Tanner Scott, Sr., Sociology, Duke
Ian Yanulis, So., Sociology, Duke
Thomas Zenker, So., Sociology, Duke
Jake Bailey (4), Sr., Journalism, North Carolina
Patrick Kelly, Jr., Biology, North Carolina
Stephen Kelly, So., Business, North Carolina 
Peyton Klawinski, So., Business, North Carolina
Austin Pifani, So., Undeclared, North Carolina
Michael Tagliaferri, R-So., Business, North Carolina 
Will Corrigan, Sr., Psychology, Notre Dame 
Edwin Glazener, Jr., Economics, Notre Dame
Matt Landis, Jr., Finance, Notre Dame 
Eddy Lubowicki, Jr., IT Management, Notre Dame
Jim Marlatt (2), GS, Finance, Notre Dame
Jack Near, Sr., Finance, Notre Dame 
Sergio Perkovic (2), So., Finance, Notre Dame 
John Sexton, Fr., Undeclared, Notre Dame 
Dylan Donahue, R-Jr., Environmental Engineering, Syracuse
Jordan Evans, So., Supply Chain Mgt., Syracuse
Thomas Grimm, R-Jr., Psychology, Syracuse
Peter McCartney (2), R-Sr., Accounting, Finance, Syracuse 
Brandon Mullins (2), R-So., Finance, Syracuse 
Kevin Rice (2), Sr., History, Syracuse
Ben Williams, So., Management, Syracuse 
David Sacco, Sr., Government, Virginia
Ryan Tucker (3), Sr., History, Virginia 
Owen Van Arsdale (4), R-Sr., Commerce, Virginia  

(#) – Career All-ACC Academic Honors