2015 All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team Announced

Miami’s Stephanie Wagner Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year 

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Miami junior Stephanie Wagner has been named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Scholar Athlete of the Year and headlines the 2015 All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team, as announced today by the conference office.

An economics major from Amberg, Germany, Wagner finished the season ranked No. 9 in singles and No. 21 in doubles, garnering First Team All-ACC and ITA All-America honors. The junior compiled a 21-8 record in singles, including 11-3 in the ACC and 13-4 at the No. 1 position, culminating with a semifinals appearance at the NCAA Singles Championship. In the classroom, Wagner earned honors on the Dean’s List, Athletic Director Honor Roll and Book Buster Club.

Fourteen ACC schools are represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team, led by Clemson and Miami with four honorees apiece. Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech and Syracuse each had three representatives while Louisville, NC State and Wake Forest garnered two honorees. North Carolina, Notre Dame, Pitt, Virginia and Virginia rounded out the group with one apiece.

One student-athlete, Miami’s Lina Lileikite was named to the All-ACC Academic Team for the fourth time. Three others were named to the team for the third time: Florida State’s Daneika Borthwick, Georgia Tech’s Megan Kurey and Miami’s Stephanie Wagner.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2015 ACC Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Stephanie Wagner, Miami

2015 All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team
Romy Koelzer (2), Sr., Clemson, Communications
Beatrice Gumulya (2), Sr., Clemson, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
Joana Eidukonyte, Jr., Clemson, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
Tristen Dewar, Jr., Clemson, Communications
Sam Harris, Fr., Duke, Undeclared
Ester Goldfeld, Sr., Duke, Evolutionary Anthropology
Beatrice Capra, Jr., Duke, Cultural Anthropology
Daniela Schippers, So., Florida State, Hospitality
Mia Vriens, Sr., Florida State, Sport Management
Daneika Borthwick (3), Sr., Florida State, Sport Management
Alexis Prokopuik, Georgia Tech, Fr., Environmental Engineering
Natasha Prokhnevska, Georgia Tech, Jr., Biochemistry
Megan Kurey (3), Georgia Tech, Jr., Business Administration
Alexsandra Mally, Louisville, Fr., Exercise Science
Caroline Walter, Louisville, Fr., Undecided
Wendy Zhang, Miami, Fr., Undeclared
Lina Lileikite (4), Miami, Sr., Economics
Monique Albuquerque (2), Miami, Gr., International Business Studies
Stephanie Wagner (3), Miami, Jr., Economics
Hayley Carter (2), North Carolina, So., Undecided
Elisha Hande, NC State, Sr., Economics
Taylor Zaytoun, NC State, Jr., Fashion & Textile Management
Julie Vrabel, Notre Dame, Jr., Science Preprofessional
Katherine Castro, Pitt, Sr., Rhetoric and Communications
Amanda Rodgers, Syracuse, Sr., Communication and Rhetorical Studies
Komal Safdar (2), Syracuse, Sr., Biochemistry
Nicole Mitchell, Syracuse, Fr., Undeclared
Julia Elbaba, Virginia, Jr., Media Studies
Francesca Fusinato (2), Virginia Tech, So., University Studies
Luisa Fernandez, Wake Forest, So., Health & Exercise Science
Kimberly Guerin, Wake Forest, So., English

**Numbers in parentheses indicate times selected during career**