2015 All-ACC Academic Volleyball Team Announced

Louisville’s Katie George Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Louisville senior setter Katie George has been named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Volleyball team.

A communication major from Louisville, Kentucky, George is a two-time All-ACC Academic team member and was named a 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-American. On the court, George is a two-time American Volleyball Coaches’ Association All-America Honorable Mention honoree and was selected to the AVCA All-East Region Team as a junior and senior. After leading the Cardinals to the 2015 ACC Volleyball title, George was named the ACC Player and Setter of the Year and an All-ACC First Team member.

All 15 ACC schools are represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team, led by Louisville with five honorees. Duke has four student-athletes recognized, while Florida State and Miami have three representatives. North Carolina, Pitt, Syracuse, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest have two members, while Boston College, Clemson, Georgia Tech, NC State, Notre Dame and Virginia all have one student-athlete apiece.

In addition to George, All-ACC Academic team members who also earned All-ACC honors this past season include Boston College’s Katty Workman, Duke’s Emily Sklar, Jordan Tucker and Sasha Karelov, Florida State’s Milica Kubura and Nicole Walch, Georgia Tech’s Teegan Van Gunst, Louisville’s Katie George, Janelle Jenkins, Tess Clark and Erin Fairs, Miami’s Olga Strantzali, Haley Templeton and Taylor Scott, North Carolina’s Paige Neuenfeldt, Notre Dame’s Sam Fry, Pitt’s Amanda Orchard and Virginia Tech’s Lindsey Owens.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2015 ACC Volleyball Scholar Athlete of the Year
Katie George, Louisville

2015 All-ACC Academic Volleyball Team
Katherine Workman %         Sr.            Marketing and English                          Boston College
Leah Perri #                           Sr.            Health Science                                        Clemson
Emily Sklar #                          Sr.            Psychology                                              Duke
Jordan Tucker #                     Jr.             Evolutionary Anthropology                  Duke
Sasha Karelov @                   Jr.              Public Policy                                            Duke
Margaret Deichmeister @   Sr.             Evolutionary Anthropology                  Duke
Nicole Walch @                     Sr.             Sport Management                               Florida State
Milica Kubura @                   So.            Actuarial Science                                    Florida State
Hailey Luke                            Jr.             Sport Management                                Florida State
Teegan Van Gunst @           Jr.              Mechanical Engineering                       Georgia Tech
Erin Fairs                               Sr.             Criminal Justice                                       Louisville
Katie George @                    Sr.             Communication                                      Louisville
Tess Clark                             So.             Business                                                  Louisville
Molly Sauer                          Fr.              Nursing                                                    Louisville
Janelle Jenkins @                  Jr.              Exercise (HPP)                                         Louisville
Olga Strantzali                     So.             Undeclared                                              Miami
Haley Templeton                So.              Business                                                  Miami
Taylor Scott @                     Sr.              Communications                                    Miami
Paige Neuenfeldt %            Sr.             Business Administration                        North Carolina
Abigail Curry @                    Jr.              Business Administration                        North Carolina
Kaitlyn Kearney @               So.            Business Administration                        NC State
Sam Fry                                 So.            Undecided                                                Notre Dame
Amanda Orchard                Sr.             Anthropology                                           Pitt
Jenna Potts @                      Jr.-R          Media & Professional Comm.                Pitt
Nicolette Serratore @        Sr.-R         Chemical Engineering                             Syracuse
Santita Ebangwese             Fr.             Undeclared                                              Syracuse
Haley Kole @                        Jr.             Foreign Affairs                                         Virginia
Lindsey Owens @                Jr.             Biology                                                      Virginia Tech
Rhegan Mitchell                  Fr.-R         HNFE                                                          Virginia Tech
Matalee Reed #                   Sr.            Communication                                       Wake Forest
Caroline Wolf                       So.           Undeclared                                               Wake Forest

@ – Two-time honoree
# - Three-time honoree
% - Four-time honoree