2015 All-ACC Academic Softball Team Announced

NC State’s Emily Weiman Named Scholar-Athlete of the Year
GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – NC State senior Emily Weiman has been named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Scholar Athlete of the Year and headlines the 2015 All-ACC Academic Softball Team, as announced today by the conference office.
A sport management major from Pasadena, Maryland, Weiman was an All-ACC First Team selection this season for the third consecutive year, as she struck out 322 batters this season to break the Wolfpack single season record. Weiman led the ACC in wins (31) and ranked fifth in the nation for strikeouts (322). Weiman was the 2015 winner of NC State’s female HC Kennett Award, which is the highest athletic award given at the school. Additionally, the senior broke the Wolfpack record for strikeouts in a single game with 18 against Lipscomb and also became the school’s first 100-game winner.
Each of the ACC’s 11 schools that support softball is represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team, led by Florida State with seven representatives. Louisville had five honorees, followed by Pitt and Virginia Tech with four each. Notre Dame had three representatives, while Georgia Tech, North Carolina, NC State and Syracuse each had two. Boston College and Virginia rounded out the field with one honoree each.
Three student-athletes, Florida State’s Bailey Schinella, NC State’s Weiman and Virginia Tech’s Kylie McGoldrick were named to the All-ACC Academic Team for the fourth time. A total of 11 student-athletes were recognized for at least the second time.
The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.
To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.
2015 ACC Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Emily Weiman, NC State
2015 All-ACC Academic Softball Team
Megan Cooley (3), Jr., Boston College, Economics and Political Science
Ellie Cooper, So., Florida State, Sport Management
Morgan Klaevemann, Fr., Florida State, Biology
Lacey Waldrop (2), Sr., Florida State, Editing, Writing & Media
Alex Powers, Jr., Florida State, Sport Management
Victoria Daddis, So., Florida State, Sport Management
Bailey Schinella (4), Sr., Florida State, Business – Accounting
Alex Kossoff, Jr., Florida State, Information Technology
Morgan Taylor, Jr., Georgia Tech, Business Administration
Karly Fullem, Sr., Georgia Tech, Business Administration
Sidney Melton, Fr., Louisville, Exercise Science
Bridgette Flaherty, Fr., Louisville, Undecided
Kelsi Jones, Sr., Louisville, Psychology
Brittany Sims, Jr., Louisville, Chemistry
Maryssa Becker, So., Louisville, Chemistry
Ellyn Wagner, Jr., North Carolina, Business Administration
Jenna Kelly (3), Sr., North Carolina, Biology
Emily Weiman (4), Sr., NC State, Sport Management
Lana Van Dyken (2), Jr., NC State, Biological Sciences
Kimmy Sullivan, So., Notre Dame, Science – Business
Katey Haus (2), Sr., Notre Dame, Management Consulting
Rachel Nasland, So., Notre Dame, Psychology
Maggie Sevilla, Sr., Pitt, Psychology / Administration of Justice
Savannah King, Sr., Pitt, Rehabilitation Science
Carly Thea (2), Sr., Pitt, Rhetoric and Communication
Jenna Modic, Jr., Pitt, Media & Professional Communications
Riley Johnson, Jr., Syracuse, Communication & Rhetorical Studies
Madeline Doane, Fr., Syracuse, Health & Exercise Science
Megan Harris (2), Sr., Virginia, Psychology
Vanessa Gonzalez (2), So., Virginia Tech, Human Development
Kelsey Mericka, Jr., Virginia Tech, Industrial & System Engineering
Michelle Prong, Gr., Virginia Tech, Public Health
Kylie McGoldrick, Sr., Virginia Tech, Marketing