2015 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

Syracuse’s Martin Hehir recognized as sport’s ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Syracuse’s Martin Hehir has been recognized as the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

A senior distance runner with a double major in Biology and Spanish, Hehir earned Co-Most Valuable Men’s Track Performer honors at the 2015 ACC Indoor Championships after accumulating 18 points and earning dual All-ACC first-team honors with a first-place finish in the 5,000 meters and a second-place showing in the 3,000 meters. The Washingtonville, New York, native’s winning time of 13:57.97 in the 5,000 meters set a new meet record. His silver medal time of 7:53.15 in the 3,000 meters was also a personal best.

Hehir went on to earn first-team All-America honors during the NCAA Championships on March 15-16, placing seventh in the 3,000 meters with a time of 8:03.38.

With his recognition as the ACC Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete, Hehir has earned the honor in two sports during the 2014-15 academic year. He was also chosen as the 2014 ACC Men’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Hehir has been named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll and earned a spot on the Dean’s List every semester that he has been enrolled at Syracuse.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Every member the 2015 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track and Field Team also earned All-ACC honors, All-America honors and/or posted a mark in this respective event during the season that ranked among the top eight in the conference. Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career.

The complete 2015 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track and Field Team:

Name, School, Year, Major 
Brett Bofinger, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Henry Farley, Duke, Sr., BME & Mechanical Engineering
Connor Hall, Duke, So., Environmental Science
Carl Heinz, Duke, Jr., Earth & Ocean Science
Tanner Johnson, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Nate McClafferty, Duke, Sr., Economics
Ian Rock, Duke, Sr., Earth & Ocean Science
Brian Schoepfer, Duke, Sr., Environmental Science
Shaun Thompson, Duke, Sr., Biophysics
Cristobal Hurtado-Arteaga, Florida State, Jr., Management
Otniel Teixeira, Florida State, Jr., Interdisciplinary Social Science
Stargell Williams, Florida State, Sr., Sport Management
Nathan Daniel, Georgia Tech, Jr., Electrical Engineering
Brandon Lasater, Georgia Tech, Sr., Electrical Engineering
Calvin Arsenault, Louisville, Sr., Exercise Science
Edwin Kibichiy, Louisville, Jr., Public Health
Marcus Motill, Louisville, Jr., Computer Engineering
Brad Vivace, Louisville, Sr., Exercise Science
Josh Johnson, Miami, So., Industrial Engineering
Gian Ragonesi, Miami, So., Human Resources Management
A.J. Hicks, North Carolina, Sr., Exercise & Sports Sciences
Jonathan Addison, NC State, Sr., Industrial Engineering
Jule Rich, NC State, Gr., Liberal Studies
Jacob Thomson, NC State, So., Business Administration
Michael Clevenger, Notre Dame, Jr., Accountancy
Christopher Giesting, Notre Dame, Sr., Management Entrepreneurs
Brent Swanberg, Notre Dame, Jr., Finance
Luke Gallaher, Pitt, Sr., Rehabilitation Science
Desmond Palmer, Pitt, So., Media & Professional Communication
Colin Bennie, Syracuse, So., Political Science
Martin Hehir, Syracuse, Sr., Biology & Spanish
Thomas Madden, Virginia, So., Engineering
Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia, Fr., Undeclared
Ryan Satchell, Virginia, Sr., Computer Science
Darren Barlow, Virginia Tech, Sr., Mechanical Engineering
Neil Gourley, Virginia Tech, So., Mechanical Engineering
Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech, So., Biochemistry
James Steck, Virginia Tech, So.,English
Chris Uhle, Virginia Tech, Sr., Human Nutrition, Food & Exercise
Alex Krall, Wake Forest, So., Biochemistry

2015 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year:  Martin Hehir, Syracuse