2015 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team Announced

Duke’s Lauren Blazing Named Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Duke redshirt senior goalkeeper Lauren Blazing has been named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year and leads the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced Monday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Blazing, a cultural anthropology and political science major from Durham, North Carolina, earned the NCAA Elite 90 Award with the highest cumulative GPA at the 2015 NCAA Field Hockey Final Four. Over the summer, she was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America Division 1 At-Large First Team for the second straight year.

On the field, Blazing led Duke to the NCAA Championship Semifinals as the starting goalkeeper and vice captain. She garnered First Team All-America and First Team All-ACC accolades, and was named a finalist for the Honda Award. Her .778 save percentage led all ACC goalkeepers and ranked eighth nationally.

Blazing is the second individual to be named Scholar-Athlete of the Year for field hockey in consecutive years since the award’s inception in 2007.

Blazing and North Carolina’s Emily Wold have been named to the All-ACC Academic team four times in their careers. Duke’s Aileen Johnson and Amanda Kim, North Carolina’s Casey Di Nardo, Syracuse’s Emma Russell, and Virginia’s Caleigh Foust earned their third career league academic accolade.

All seven ACC schools that compete in field hockey are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, led by Duke with eight players.

Seven players on the All-ACC Academic Team were named All-Americans following the 2015 season, while 13 were voted All-ACC.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2015 ACC Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Lauren Blazing, Duke

2015 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team
Romee Stiekema, Sr., Boston College (Philosophy & Economics)
Frederique Haverhals, Fr., Boston College (Undeclared)
Kelcie Hromisin, Sr., Boston College (Applied Psych/Human Development & Biology) @
Ashleigh Sebia , Sr., Boston College (Communication) @
Lauren Blazing, R-Sr., Duke (Cultural Anthropology and Political Science) %
Aileen Johnson, Sr., Duke (Sociology) #
Hannah Barreca, Sr., Duke (Psychology) @
Amanda Kim, Sr., Duke (Spanish) #
Ashley Kristen, So., Duke (Undeclared) @
Heather Morris, Jr., Duke (Earth and Ocean Sciences)
Sarah Furey, So., Duke (Undeclared) @
Robin Blazing , Jr., Duke (Spanish and Biology)
Nina Notman , Sr., North Carolina (Psychology)
Emily Wold, Sr., North Carolina (Communication Studies) %
Casey Di Nardo , Sr., North Carolina (Media and Journalism) #
Malin Evert, Fr., North Carolina (Undecided)
Sam Night , So., North Carolina (Public Policy)
Laura Hurff, So., Syracuse (Health and Exercise Science) @
Emma Russell, Sr., Syracuse (Economics) #
Alma Fenne, Sr., Syracuse (Media and Education)
Serra Degnan, Jr., Syracuse (Health and Exercise Science)
Emma Lamison, Jr., Syracuse (Biophysical Science)
Victoria Stratton, Sr., Louisville (Human Health & Performance)
Elisa Garcia, Sr., Louisville (Marketing) @
Erin McCrudden, Jr., Louisville (Human Health & Performance)
Lotta Kahlert, Jr., Louisville (Sports Administration/ Human Health & Performance) @
Caleigh Foust, Jr., Virginia (INTER-Media Studies (BA)) #
Rebecca Holden, R-Jr., Virginia (English (BA))
Rebecca Zamojcin, So., Virginia (Arts & Sciences Undeclared) @
Juliane Grashoff, Fr., Wake Forest (Undecided)
Valerie Dahmen, Sr., Wake Forest (Politics & International Affairs) @
Megan Anderson, Fr., Wake Forest (Undecided)
Emily Conroe, Jr., Wake Forest (History)
Jessy Silfer, Jr., Wake Forest (Health & Exercise Science)

@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree