2015 All-ACC Academic Cross Country Teams Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Twenty-six All-ACC performers, including five All-Americans, secured spots on the 2015 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Cross Country teams as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Named the 2015 ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for Men’s Cross Country for a second straight year, Syracuse graduate student Martin Hehir helped lead the Orange to the ACC’s first ever NCAA men’s cross country title, out-distancing pre-meet favorite and top-ranked Colorado by a nine-point (82-to-91) margin.

Hehir earned All-America honors at the 31-team national championship meet in Louisville, Kentucky, finishing ninth overall with a 10k time of 29:59. With three runners in top 10, Syracuse was able to claim the school’s second national cross country title, and the first since 1951. The Forensic Science major from Washington, New York, also earned All-ACC honors by placing fifth at the ACC Championship with an 8k time of 23:37, and third at the Northeast Regional with a 10k posting of 30.31.3

Notre Dame senior and Honda Award winner Molly Seidel has been named the 2015 ACC Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team. Seidel became the first ACC performer since North Carolina’s Shalane Flanagan in 2003, and the seventh overall, to capture the NCAA women’s individual title, completing the 6k course in 19:28.6, five seconds ahead of Boise State’s Allie Ostrander (19:33.6).

Keyed by Seidel’s performance, Notre Dame finished eighth overall in a 31-team field. A senior Anthropology major from Hartland, Wisconsin, Seidel made a clean sweep of post-season competition. In addition to her NCAA championship, Seidel also captured the individual title at the ACC Championship with a 6k time of 19:36 and at the Great Lakes Regional finishing the 6k course in 20:03.

Hehir, Duke’s Shaun Thompson and Notre Dame’s Michael Clevenger secured spots on the league’s academic team for a third time.

On the women’s side, Seidel, Wake Forest’s Samantha Jones, Syracuse’s Sydney Leiher and Margo Malone and Wake Forest’s Samantha Jones were named to the league’s women’s academic honor team for the third time in their careers.

The 2015 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Cross Country teams are as follows:

2015 All-ACC Men’s Cross Country Academic Team

Darren Barlow, Sr., Virginia Tech Mechanical Engineering
Colin Bennie, Jr., Syracuse Political Science
Jordan Burton, So., Duke Undeclared
Logan Carroll, So., North Carolina Undeclared
Michael Clevenger, Sr., Notre Dame Accountancy
Thomas Curtin, Sr., Virginia Tech Sociology
Mark Derrick, Sr., North Carolina Economics
Jacob Dumford, Jr., Notre Dame Computer Science
James Dwyer, Sr., Clemson Mechanical Engineering
Stephen Garrett, Fr., Duke Undeclared
Martin Hehir, Gr., Syracuse Forensic Science
Daniel Jaskowak, So., Virginia Tech Human Nutrition, Food & Exercise
Brent Kennedy, So., Notre Dame Mechanical Engineering
Edwin Kibichiy, Jr., Louisville Public Health
Japhet Kipkoech, Sr., Louisville Political Science
Bryce Kelley, So., Florida State Creative Writing
Joe Kush, Sr., Syracuse Psychology
Stanley Linton, Jr., Florida State Mathematics
Thomas Madden, Jr., Virginia Mechanical Engineering
Christopher Marco, Jr., Notre Dame Finance
Chris Montgomery, Jr., Pittsburgh Economics
Matthew Munns, So., Georgia Tech Biology
Brent Musselman, So., Virginia Tech Human Nutrition, Food & Exercise
Kevin Pulliam, So., Notre Dame Mechanical Engineering
Stephen Shine, Jr., Duke Political Science
Juris Silenieks, Sr., Syracuse Exercise Science
Nahom Solomon, So., Georgia Tech Computer Engineering
Shaun Thompson, Gr., Duke Undergrad PostBach/Biophysics
Blake Udland, Sr., Duke Political Science
Adam Visokay, Sr., Virginia History
Chase Weaverling, So., Virginia Mechanical Engineering
Clayton Wilson, So., Clemson Biochemistry

2015 All-ACC Women’s Cross Country Academic Team

Ellie Abrahamson, Jr., Wake Forest Business Enterprise
Caroline Alcorta, So., North Carolina Nursing
Carmela Cardama Baez, Fr., Florida State Psychology
Anima Banks, Sr., Duke Political Science
Grace Barnett, Jr., Clemson Elementary Education
Lauren Berman, Fr., Virginia Tech General Engineering
Cleo Boyd, Sr., Virginia American Studies
Benadate Cheruiyot, Sr., Louisville Public Health
Hannah Christen, So., North Carolina Exercise & Sport Science
Rachel DaMamio, Fr., Notre Dame Undeclared
Sarah Fakler, Jr., Virginia Electrical Engineering
Ryen Frazier, Fr., NC State Engineering
Madison Granger, Sr., Duke English
Christine Griggs, Sr., Florida State Hospitality Management
Cassia Hameline, Sr., Syracuse IDD&E
Samantha Jones, Sr., Wake Forest Communications
Sarah Kanney, Fr., NC State Communications
Katherine Kennedy, So., Virginia Tech Public Reltions
Ann Isabelle Kennedy, So., Boston College Secondary Edu cation & English
Erika Kemp, Jr., NC State Psychology
Kaitlyn Kramer, Sr., NC State Chemical Engineering
Iona Lake, Gr., Virginia Educational Psychology
Sydney Leiher, Jr., Syracuse Sports Management
Margo Malone, Sr., Syracuse Biology
Abigail Motley, Jr., Virginia Tech International Studies
Megan Moye, Sr., NC State Communications
Emily Mulhern, Fr., Virginia Undeclared
Josette Norris, So., North Carolina Exercise & Sport Science
Georgia Peel, Sr., Florida State International Affairs
Stella Radford, So., North Carolina Geography
Megan Rebholz, So., Virginia Undeclared
Alyssa Rudawsky, Jr., NC State Psychology
Gillian Schriever, Fr., Pittsburgh Engineering
Molly Seidel, Sr., Notre Dame Anthropology
Danielle Winslow, Gr., Boston College Administrative Studies