2015-16 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

NC State’s Addison recognized as sport’s ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – NC State’s Jonathan Addison has been recognized as the 2015-16 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

A silver medalist in the long jump and a three-time first-team All-American, Addison was voted the ACC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year by the league’s head coaches and was named the USTFCCCA Southeast Region’s Men’s Athlete of the Year. Addison cleared 26 feet in the long jump four times during the 2016 indoor season and earned an Olympic Trials mark with his leap of 26-9.75 at the Virginia Tech Elite Meet.

A senior industrial engineering major from Raleigh, North Carolina, Addison was also named the 2015 ACC Outdoor Track and Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. He is a four-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team and earned a spot on the ACC Honor Roll in each of his first three collegiate seasons. He was recognized earlier this month as an ACC Postgraduate Scholar-Athlete. Addison was also named to the NC State Dean’s List for the 2015 fall semester.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September of 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their careers, as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team. The All-ACC Men’s Academic Team includes 24 student-athletes that earned All-America and/or All-ACC honors during the 2015-16 season.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

The complete 2016 Men’s Indoor Track and Field All-ACC Academic Team:

Name, School Class Major
Brett Bofinger, Duke                        So.    Sociology
Carl Heinz, Duke                               Sr.    Environmental Science
Tanner Johnson, Duke                     So.    Biology
Alec Kunzweiler, Duke                      Jr.     Political Science
Robert Rohner, Duke                       Sr.     Psychology
Stefan Brits, Florida State                Gr.    Chemistry
Otniel Teixeira, Florida State           Sr.     Social Science/Sociology
Avery Bartlett, Georgia Tech            Fr.     Computational Media
Ryan Thomas, Georgia Tech            So.     Biomedical Engineering
Edwin Kibichiy, Louisville                  Sr.     Public Health
Myles Valentine, Miami                     Fr.     Finance
Joseph Ryan, Miami                           Sr.     Health Sciences
Anthony Wolliston, Miami                Gr.     Biomedical Engineering
RJ Alowanle, North Carolina             Sr.     Business Administration
AJ Hicks, North Carolina                    Sr.     Radiologic Sciences
Austin Vegas, North Carolina            Sr.     Exercise and Sport Science
Jonathan Addison, NC State              Sr.     Industrial Engineering
Josh Davis, NC State                            Jr.      Business Administration
Christopher Garrick, NC State           Fr.     Management
Grant Rivers, NC State                         Jr.     Communications
Matthew Birzer, Notre Dame             Fr.    Undeclared
Jacob Dumford, Notre Dame              Jr.    Computer Science
Alexander Groesch, Notre Dame       Jr.    Finance
Christopher Marco, Notre Dame       Jr.    Finance
Patrick O’Connell, Notre Dame          Jr.    Mechanical Engineering
Harvey Smith, Notre Dame                Jr.     Accountancy
Drake Stimson, Notre Dame             So.    Undeclared
Brent Swanberg, Notre Dame           Sr.     Finance
Colin Bennie, Syracuse                       Jr.     Political Science
Paul Lovell, Syracuse                          Jr.     Biotechnology
Adam Palamar, Syracuse                  Jr.      Biology
Robby Keough, Virginia                     Fr.     Undeclared
Christian Lavorgna, Virginia             Sr.     Mathematics/Teacher Education
Jack Lint, Virginia                               So.     Computer Science
Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia                    So.     Environmental Sciences
Adam Visokay, Virginia                     Jr.      History
Chase Weaverling, Virginia              Fr.     Mechanical Engineering
Jared Bane, Virginia Tech                 Fr.     Accounting and Info Systems
Darren Barlow, Virginia Tech           Sr.    Mechanical Engineering
Vincent Ciattei, Virginia Tech           Jr.      ESM
Thomas Curtin, Virginia Tech          Sr.     Sociology
Daniel Jaskowak, Virginia Tech       Jr.       HNFE
Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech           So.      Bio Chemistry/Biology
James Steck, Virginia Tech              So.      CW
Simon Holden, Wake Forest           Jr.       Mathematical Statistics

2016 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jonathan Addison, NC State