2015-16 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team Announced

Clemson’s Stephen Behr wins Rod Myers Award

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Clemson’s Stephen Behr, the Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, leads the 2015-16 All-ACC Academic Team as announced Tuesday. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is named after Rod Myers, Duke's men's golf coach from 1973-2007.

A graduate student studying financial management, Behr won the 2016 Byron Nelson Award as the top all-around student-athlete in collegiate golf. He led the Tigers with a team-best 71.94 stroke average and had the most top-10 finishes on the team with five in 11 tournaments played. 

A native of Florence, South Carolina, Behr completed the season as the highest-ranked league player in the Golfweek rankings at No. 18, and is No. 22 in the nation according to Golfstat. He finished tied for 13th at the ACC Championship to help lead Clemson to the team title. At the NCAA Championship, he won the Elite 90 Award with the highest GPA of all competitors at the event.

Eight golfers who earned All-ACC honors this season secured spots on the 2015-16 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team: Clemson’s Behr, Bryson Nimmer, and Carson Young, Duke’s Adam Wood, Florida State’s Hank Lebioda, Louisville’s Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Virginia’s Derek Bard and Jimmy Stanger.

Clemson’s Behr and Wake Forest’s Davis Womble are four-time ACC All-Academic honorees, while Virginia’s Bard is recognized for the third time. 

Ten league programs are represented on the academic team, led by Duke with five honorees. Clemson and Virginia had four golfers recognized, while Louisville had three honored.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

Rod Myers Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Stephen Behr, Clemson

All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team
Carson Young, Jr., Clemson (Marketing) @
Stephen Behr, GR, Clemson (Financial Management) %
Miller Capps, Sr., Clemson (Economics) 
Bryson Nimmer, Fr., Clemson (Pre-Business) 
Adam Wood, So., Duke (Statistics) @
Jacob Shuman, So., Duke (Sociology) @
Alex Smalley, Fr., Duke (Undeclared) 
Matthew Oshrine, Jr., Duke (Economics) 
Max Greyserman, Jr., Duke (PPS/CulAnth) 
Hank Lebioda, Sr., Florida State (Finance) @
Josh Lee, Jr., Florida State (Management/Marketing) @
Vince Whaley, Jr., Georgia Tech (Business Administration) @
Chris Petefish, So., Georgia Tech (Business Administration) @
William Register, So., North Carolina (Economics) @
Stephen Franken, Fr., NC State (Management) 
David Cooke, Sr., NC State (Business Administration) 
Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Sr., Louisville (Sport Administration) @
Keegan de Lange, Fr., Louisville (Sociology) 
Simon Zach, Fr., Louisville (Sociology) 
Jimmy Stanger, Jr., Virginia (Commerce) @
Derek Bard, Jr., Virginia (Foreign Affairs) #
Thomas Walsh, Fr., Virginia (Undeclared) 
Danny Walker, So., Virginia (Undeclared) 
Joey Lane, Jr., Virginia Tech (Finance) @
Davis Womble, Sr., Wake Forest (Finance) %

@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree