2015-16 ACC Women’s Basketball League Schedule Announced

Click here for the complete schedule

GREENSBORO, NC – Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced today the composite league schedule for the 2015-16 ACC women’s basketball season.

“The 15 ACC Women’s Basketball programs are coming off a remarkable season and are well positioned for the future,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “Our postseason success, including having the most teams in the NCAA Tournament last year, has laid a strong foundation as we head into the 2015-16 season. Based on the overall strength of our women’s basketball programs, playing in this league is extraordinarily challenging, as it is arguably the strongest in the country, top to bottom.”

Highlights of the upcoming league schedule include:

  • Forty-six (46) televised conference games.
  • Twenty-one (21) conference games on ESPN networks, including up to seven on ESPN2.
  • ESPN3 will carry at least 12 conference games throughout the season.
  • Twenty-five (25) conference games on the ACC’s regional sports network (known as RSN) are highlighted by six Sunday afternoon doubleheaders on Jan. 3, Jan. 10, Jan. 24, Jan. 31, Feb. 7, and Feb. 21. RSN, which reaches in excess of 51.4 million homes and includes Fox Sports South, Fox Sports Carolinas, Fox Sports Florida, Sun Sports, Fox Sports Indiana, Fox Sports Midwest, Comcast Sports Net Mid-Atlantic, New England Sports Network (NESN), the YES Network, the Madison Square Garden Network (MSG) in New York and Root Sports in Pennsylvania. All ACC games produced as part of the RSN package will be available via WatchESPN, but are subject to regional blackout.
  • The 2015-16 women’s basketball season tips off on Friday, Nov. 13, with 12 ACC teams in action. The ACC begins conference play on Wednesday, Dec. 30 with two league games – NC State at Miami and Georgia Tech at Notre Dame.
  • The 39th annual ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament will take place Wednesday-Sunday, March 2-6 at the Greensboro Coliseum. The Championship will begin with three first-round games on Wednesday, followed by the second round, quarterfinals, semifinals and title contest in successive days. RSN will carry the first three days of action, while ESPNU will have the semifinals and ESPN will televise the championship game at 1 p.m.
  • In addition to the 46 televised league games, seven non-conference games will air on the ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU, and it is anticipated that more games will be added to ESPN3. Further, other games will be carried by official websites and regional cable partners of ACC institutions. Updates concerning additional appearances will be released as they are confirmed on theACC.com.
  • ACC teams will play 47 games against teams that are either ranked ESPN’s Way-too-early Top 25 for 2015-16 or earned a berth in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship. The ACC sent eight teams to the NCAA Championship in 2015, with five advancing to the Sweet 16 and Notre Dame appearing in the national championship game for the second straight year.

What’s to come in 2015-16:

  • The ACC returns five Associated Press All-Americans from a season ago – Florida State’s Adut Bulgak, (honorable mention) and Leticia Romero, (honorable mention), Louisville’s Mariya Moore, (honorable mention), and Notre Dame’s Lindsay Allen (honorable mention) and Brianna Turner (honorable mention).
  • The ACC returns 10 All-ACC performers from a season ago – Duke’s Azura Stevens (second team, freshman team), Florida State’s Adut Bulgak, (first team), Leticia Romero (second team) and Shakayla Thomas (freshman team), Louisville’s Mariya Moore (second team, freshman team), Miami’s Adrienne Motley (first team), Notre Dame’s Brianna Turner (first team, freshman team), Syracuse’s Alexis Peterson (second team), and Virginia’s Faith Randolph (second team) and Mikayla Venson (freshman team).
  • Five ACC teams are listed among ESPN’s Way-too-early Top 25 for 2015-16: No. 6 Notre Dame, No. 7 Louisville, No. 8 North Carolina, No. 10 Florida State and No. 15 Duke.
  • The ACC boasts six of the top 20 incoming recruiting classes with three in the top five (No. 1 Duke, No. 2 Louisville, No. 5 Notre Dame, No. 7 North Carolina, No. 16 NC State and No. 19 Virginia Tech).
  • Nine McDonalds All-Americans will join the league for the 2015-16 season - the most of any league: Kyra Lambert (Duke), Taja Cole (Louisville), Asia Durr (Louisville), Samantha Fuehring (Louisville), Destinee Walker (North Carolina), Stephanie Watts (North Carolina), Marina Mabrey (Notre Dame), Arike Ogunbowale (Notre Dame) and Ali Patberg (Notre Dame).

For more information on ACC women’s basketball, be sure to follow the league on Twitter: @accwbb.

About the ACC
The Atlantic Coast Conference, now in its 63rd year of competition and 15 members strong, has long enjoyed the reputation as one of the strongest and most competitive intercollegiate conferences in the nation. ACC members Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Notre Dame, Pitt, Syracuse, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest continue to build upon the cornerstones on which the league was founded in 1953 with a consistent balance of academics, athletics and integrity. For more information, visit theACC.com and follow @theACC on Twitter and on facebook.com/theACC.