2014 ACC Field Hockey Individual Awards Announced


Wake Forest’s Kozniuk, Holland, Averill, and Virginia’s Vittese recognized               

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Wake Forest senior midfielder Anna Kozniuk and senior back Georgia Holland have been recognized as Atlantic Coast Conference Field Hockey Players of the Year, announced Monday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Kozniuk was voted as the Offensive Player of the Year and Holland as the Defensive Player of the Year in a poll of the league’s seven head coaches. Virginia’s Tara Vittese received Freshman of the Year honors, and Wake Forest’s Jennifer Averill was named the Coach of the Year.

A native of North Vancouver, Canada, Kozniuk finished third in the league with 15 goals and third in points with 36. During the ACC Championship, she tallied two goals and added two assists over three games to lead the Demon Deacons to their first league title since 2006. She is the fourth different Wake Forest student-athlete to be named ACC Player of the Year and first since 2004. Kozniuk was named to the All-ACC Team four times in her career, the 12th player in league history to accomplish the feat.

Holland led a Demon Deacon defensive unit that only allowed two goals over three games to win the ACC Championship, including shutting out Syracuse, the nation’s No. 4 offense, in the title game. A native of Stony Brook, N.Y., she is the first Wake Forest student-athlete to be named ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

Vittese finished her rookie campaign ranked fourth in the country with 2.55 points per game and was 10th with .85 goals per contest. She led the league or was tied for the league lead in shots, points, and assists, and was second in goals. A native of Cherry Hill, N.J., Vittese was named to the All-ACC First Team and is the fifth Cavalier to win the award.

Averill led Wake Forest to a 14-6 record and the fourth ACC Championship in program history. The Demon Deacons, who were ranked the entire season, earned their 14th NCAA bid in the past 16 seasons. This is the seventh ACC Coach of the Year honor for Averill.