2014 Men’s Golf All-ACC Team Announced

Georgia Tech’s Schniederjans and Heppler, Florida State’s Maguire win individual awards

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its 2014 Men’s Golf All-Conference team and individual awards today, as selected by the league’s 12 head coaches. 

Georgia Tech junior Ollie Schniederjans was named the ACC Player of the Year and Florida State’s Jack Maguire was selected ACC Freshman of the Year. Georgia Tech’s Bruce Heppler garnered ACC Coach of the Year honors.

Schniederjans, a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award, has won five tournaments this year, tied for the most in the country and a season best all-time by a Yellow Jacket. Ranked No. 4 in the country by Golfstat, his 69.73 stroke average is the best in the league and the second best in program history. He has won three straight events – the Valspar Inviational, Robert Kepler Invitational, and the ACC Championship – and was named to the United States’ 2014 Palmer Cup team.  He is the fifth Yellow Jacket to win the award, joining Bryce Molder (1999-2001), David Duval (1992-93), Stewart Cink (1995), and Matt Kuchar (1998).

Maguire won two tournaments and finished in the top 10 in eight of 10 events in his rookie campaign. With a stroke average of 70.67, he is the second-highest ranked freshman in the country at No. 14 according to Golfstat, and is the third-highest golfer from the ACC. At the USF Invitational in March, he carded the lowest round (62, -10) and the lowest tournament score in relation to par (-16) in program history. Maguire is the second straight Seminole and third overall to be named ACC Freshman of the Year (Hank Lebioda, 2013; Brooks Koepka, 2009).

Heppler’s Yellow Jackets won their fifth ACC Championship in the last six years, winning by six strokes to take home the 2014 title. Georgia Tech has won five tournaments this year, including the past three, and was victorious at the Capital City Club Match Play Championship. The Jackets, who are currently ranked No. 5 by Golfstat, are the No. 1 seed in the Raleigh Regional. This is the eighth ACC Coach of the Year honor for Heppler.

Six programs are represented on this year’s All-ACC Team. Georgia Tech and Virginia Tech led the way with three players selected. Schniederjans was joined by Yellow Jackets Seth Reeves and Anders Albertson, while Hokies Trevor Cone, Scott Vincent, and Bryce Chalkley garnered recognition.

Florida State and Virginia each had two players tabbed for the All-ACC Team, with Notre Dame and Wake Forest both having one player chosen.

The Seminoles are represented by Maguire and Lebioda, while Denny McCarthy and Ben Rusch are the Cavaliers that were honored.

Notre Dame’s Niall Platt and Wake Forest’s Thomas Birdsey complete the 12-member All-ACC squad.

Georgia Tech’s Albertson and Virginia’s McCarthy are three-time All-ACC selections, while Florida State’s Lebioda, Georgia Tech’s Schniederjans, Virginia’s Rusch, and Virginia Tech’s Vincent were named to the squad for a second time. 

2014 ACC Men’s Golf Individual Awards
Player of the Year             Ollie Schniederjans, Jr., Georgia Tech
Freshman of the Year       Jack Maguire, Fr., Florida State
Coach of the Year              Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech

2014 Men’s Golf All-ACC Team
Jack Maguire, Fr., Florida State 
Hank Lebioda, So., Florida State 
Seth Reeves, Sr., Georgia Tech 
Ollie Schniederjans, Jr., Georgia Tech 
Anders Albertson, Jr., Georgia Tech 
Niall Platt, Sr., Notre Dame
Denny McCarthy, Jr., Virginia 
Ben Rusch, Sr., Virginia 
Trevor Cone, Jr., Virginia Tech
Scott Vincent, Jr., Virginia Tech 
Bryce Chalkley, Sr., Virginia Tech
Thomas Birdsey, Sr., Wake Forest