2014 All-@ACCWLax Team Announced


Maryland’s four first-team selections lead 26-member squad

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – An eye-opening 20 Tewaaraton Award  candidates highlight the 2014 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Team announced on Wednesday.

Maryland, the conference regular-season co-champion and the No. 1 seed for this week’s ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship, leads with four student-athletes voted to the first team and five selections overall in balloting by the league’s eight head coaches. North Carolina also has five total selections, while ACC regular-season co-champion Syracuse and Duke follow with four apiece. All eight of the ACC women’s lacrosse teams placed at least one player on the squad.

The first team includes the ACC’s top two overall scorers in Syracuse’s Kayla Treanor (5.31 points per game) and the top two goal scorers in Treanor (3.62) and North Carolina’s Abbey Friend (3.31).  Nine of the ACC’s top 10 overall scorers and nine of the top 10 goal scorers were voted to either the first or second team.

Defensively, the first team features Virginia goalkeeper Liz Colgan, whose 10 saves per game leads the conference and ranks sixth nationally. Second-team selection Margaret Smith of Notre Dame ranks sixth nationally with 2.19 turnovers caused per game.

The All-ACC First and Second Teams include a number of other national statistics leaders. Treanor ranks fifth among NCAA Division I players in goals scored, and Friend is ninth. Treanor ranks second nationally in total points scored, while second-team selections Kerrin Maurer of Duke (4.8) and Covie Stanwick of Boston College (4.6) rank sixth and seventh respectively.

Nine members of the All-ACC teams are multi-year honorees as Boston College’s Rix and Stanwick and North Carolina’s Friend and Serpe collected All-ACC honors for the third time in their careers, while Duke’s Virden, Trimble and Maurer, and Maryland’s Cummings and Griffin are repeat honorees having earned All-ACC honors in 2013.

The 2014 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship gets underway at Boston College’s Alumni Stadium in Chestnut Hill, Mass., on Thursday. Quarterfinal matches find No. 1 Maryland against No. 8 Virginia Tech at 11 a.m., followed by No. 4 Duke versus No. 5 Virginia at 1 p.m. Syracuse, the No. 2 seed, meets No. 7 Notre Dame at 3 p.m. The quarterfinal session closes with No. 3 North Carolina versus No. 6  Boston College at 5 p.m.

Semifinal matches are set for 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. on Friday, and the title game for Sunday at 1 p.m. All games will be telecast by the ACC’s Regional Sports Network, with the exception of Thursday’s 3 p.m. and 5 p.m. quarterfinal matches. Those will streamed live by the ACC Digital Network.

For more information on the ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship, please see http://theacc.co/WLAXchamp. For a tournament bracket, please see http://theacc.co/WLAX14bracket,

The 2014 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team:

First Team All-ACC

Abbey Friend, Sr., A, North Carolina %^

Alyssa Murray, Sr., A, Syracuse ^

Kayla Treanor, So., A, Syracuse ^

Taylor Cummings, So., M, Maryland ! ^

Beth Glaros, Sr., M, Maryland

Kelly McPartland, Jr., M, Maryland ^

Mikaela Rix, Jr, M, Boston College %^

Taylor Trimble, Jr., M, Duke ! ^

Megan Douty, Jr., D, Maryland ^

Sloane Serpe, Sr., D, North Carolina % ^

Taylor Virden, Sr., D, Duke !^

Liz Colgan, Sr., G, Virginia

Caylee Waters, Fr., G, North Carolina  

*due to a tie in voting an extra member was added to the team

Second Team All-ACC

Brooke Griffin, R-Jr., A, Maryland !^

Kerrin Maurer, Jr., A, Duke !^

Covie Stanwick, Jr, A, Boston College %^

Courtney Swan, Jr., A, Virginia ^

Megan Will, Jr., A, Virginia Tech  

Sarah Mannelly, So., M, Boston College ^

Aly Messinger, So., A, North Carolina ^

Maddy Morrissey, Sr., M, Duke

Katie Webster, Sr, M, Syracuse ^

Kasey Mock, Sr., D, Syracuse ^

Margaret Smith, Sr., D, Notre Dame ^

Morgan Stephens, Jr., D, Virginia ^

Megan Ward, So., G, North Carolina

*due to a tie in voting an extra member was added to the team

^ - Tewaaraton Award candidates

% Three-time All-ACC Team selection

! Two-time All-ACC Team selection