Notre Dame’s Patrick Hodan Named ACC Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year


2014 All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Notre Dame junior midfielder Patrick Hodan has been named the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year and leads the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced Tuesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Hodan, a finance major from Brookfield, Wisconsin, was named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of American Scholar All-America First Team and to the Capital One Academic All-America First Team. The ACC Offensive Player of the Year, Hodan also garnered NSCAA All-America First Team honors and was a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

NC State’s Matthew Ingram claimed his fourth career All-ACC Academic honor. Duke’s Sean Davis, North Carolina’s Jonathan Campbell and Robert Lovejoy, and Virginia’s Ryan Zinkhan all earned their third career league academic accolade.

Notre Dame leads all league squads with five players recognized, followed by Clemson, Duke, North Carolina, NC State, and Virginia with four apiece. Nineteen players on the All-ACC Academic teams also earned either All-ACC or ACC All-Freshman honors.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.  Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

2014 All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team
Andrew Tarbell, Clemson, Sr., Civil Engineering
Ara Amirkhanian @, Clemson, Sr., Health Science
Paul Clowes @, Clemson, Jr., Marketing
Robert Belair, Clemson, GS, Comm., Tech, & Society
Cameron Moseley, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Joseph Ohaus, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Markus Fjortoft, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Sean Davis #, Duke, Sr., Sociology
Daniel Keller, Louisville, Sr., Finance
Joachim Ball, Louisville, GS, MBA
Tim Kubel, Louisville, Fr., Business
Alan Winn , North Carolina, Fr., Exercise and Sport Science
Andy Craven , North Carolina, Jr., Communication Studies
Jonathan Campbell  #, North Carolina, Sr., Business Administration
Robert Lovejoy  #, North Carolina, Sr., Business Administration
Alex McCauley, NC State, Jr., Business Management
Holden Fender @, NC State, Jr., Business Management
Matthew Ingram %, NC State, Sr., Business Management
Zach Knudson, NC State, Fr., Business Management
Andrew O'Malley, Notre Dame, GS, Unclassified Graduate
Evan Panken @, Notre Dame, Jr., Science Preprofessional
Jeff Farina, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared
Luke Mishu @, Notre Dame, Sr., Psychology
Patrick Hodan @, Notre Dame, Jr., Finance
Julian Buescher, Syracuse, Fr., Undeclared
Oyvind Alseth, Syracuse, So., Finance
Tyler Hilliard, Syracuse, R-Jr., Finance
Eric Bird @, Virginia, Sr., Government
Nicko Corriveau, Virginia, So., Undeclared
Ryan Zinkhan #, Virginia, Sr., Foreign Affairs
Scott Thomsen @, Virginia, Jr., Foreign Affairs
Ian Harkes @, Wake Forest, So., Undeclared
Jacori Hayes @, Wake Forest, So., Undeclared 

@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree