2014 @ACCSoftball Honors Announced

Pictured: Florida State junior shortstop Maddie O'Brien (courtesy Seminoles.com)


FSU’s Waldrop, O’Brien and Alameda earn recognition; ND’s Wester top freshman

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – The 2014 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Softball Teams and individual awards were announced today by the conference office, as voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches.

Florida State’s Maddie O’Brien was named the ACC Player of the Year, while the Seminoles’ Lacey Waldrop and Lonni Alameda were named Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively. Notre Dame’s Karley Wester was tabbed the ACC Freshman of the Year.

O’Brien, a junior from Palm Harbor, Florida, finished the regular season second in the league in batting average (.440) and topped the charts in slugging percentage (.953), on-base percentage (.556), home runs (20) and RBI (74). O’Brien becomes the sixth Florida State student-athlete to win the award, joining Toni Gutierrez (1992), Cindy Lawton (1995), Shamalene Wilson (1996), Leslie Malerich (2001) and Jessica van der Linden (2003, 2004).

Waldrop, who became the second student-athlete from Florida State to win the league’s top softball pitcher award, held opponents to a .171 batting average and posted an ERA of 0.86 in 204.1 innings of work. The junior from Chester, Virginia, registered a NCAA-high 31 wins during the regular season.

Notre Dame’s Wester, a native of Huntington Beach, California, led the ACC in batting average (.461) and was third in the league with an on-base percentage of .525. In addition, Wester drove home 28 runs during the regular season and topped the league’s charts in stolen bases with 25.

Alameda earned ACC Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive season after leading the Seminoles to the top spot in the ACC regular season standings. Florida State enters postseason play with a 47-6 record, 24-3 against conference opponents and is ranked No. 4 in the most recent USA Today/NFCA poll.

Ten schools were represented on the 2014 All-ACC Teams, led by Florida State and Notre Dame with five representatives apiece. North Carolina, Virginia Tech and Syracuse had three, while Boston College, Georgia Tech, NC State, and Pitt each had two. Maryland rounded out the field with one representative.


Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year – Maddie O'Brien, Florida State
Pitcher of the Year –Lacey Waldrop, Florida State
Freshman of the Year – Karley Wester, Notre Dame
Coach of the Year – Lonni Alameda, Florida State
All-ACC First Team
Lacey Waldrop Jr. P Florida State
Maddie O'Brien Jr. SS Florida State
Karley Wester Fr. OF Notre Dame
Micaela Arizmendi So. 1B Notre Dame
Courtney Senas Sr. OF Florida State
Kristen Brown So. SS North Carolina
Emily Weiman Jr. P NC State
Laura Winter Sr. P Notre Dame
Sydney O'Hara Fr. P Syracuse
Maddie Lionberger So. 2B Georgia Tech
All-ACC Second Team
Ashley Thomas Sr. SS Georgia Tech
Jessica Burroughs Fr. P Florida State
Emilee Koerner Jr. OF Notre Dame
Renada Davis Jr. SS NC State
Candice Beards Sr. 1B Maryland
Jenna Kelly So. 1B North Carolina
Lauren Gaskill Jr. SS Virginia Tech
Aquilla Mateen So. OF North Carolina
Tory Speer Sr. C Boston College
Carly Thea Jr. OF Pitt
All-ACC Third Team
Jasmine Watson Sr. 1B Syracuse
Victoria East So. 1B Florida State
Cassidy Whidden Jr. C Notre Dame
Shirley Daniels Sr. OF Syracuse
Tori Nirschl So. OF Pitt
Kylie McGoldrick Jr. 2B Virginia Tech
Nicole D'Argento Sr. P Boston College
Megan Cooley So. OF Boston College
Briana Hamilton Sr. 3B Florida State
Katey Smith So. C Virginia Tech