2014-15 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team Announced

Georgia Tech’s Albertson wins Rod Myers Award

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Georgia Tech’s Anders Albertson, the Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, leads the 2014-15 All-ACC Academic Team, announced Thursday. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named after Rod Myers, Duke's men's golf coach from 1973-2007.

A senior from Woodstock, Georgia, Albertson became the 16th player in league history to be named All-ACC four times. A member of the U.S. team at the 2015 Palmer Cup, Albertson won co-medalist honors at the ACC Championship and led the Yellow Jackets to the team title. He finished the year ranked No. 37 and No. 49 in the nation according to Golfweek and Golfstat, respectively.

A business administration major, Albertson was the recipient of the 2015 Byron Nelson Award, given to a graduating senior based on their entire collegiate academic and golf career. He earned Dean’s List honors in both the fall and spring semesters and graduated with High Honors. A four-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team, he was named to the Capital One Academic All-America At-Large Third Team this year. 

Five golfers who earned All-ACC honors this season secured spots on the 2014-15 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team: Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schneiderjans and Albertson, Louisville’s Robin Sciot-Siegrist, North Carolina Ben Griffin, and Virginia’s Derek Bard.

Georgia Tech’s Schneiderjans and Albertson are four-time league academic honorees. Boston College’s John Jackopsic, Clemson’s Billy Kennerly and Stephen Behr, and Virginia Tech’s Maclain Huge earned their third career selection.

Ten league programs are represented on the academic team, led by Georgia Tech with five honorees. Clemson, Duke, and North Carolina had three players recognized, while Louisville and Virginia had two players selected. 

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.  Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Rod Myers Scholar Athlete of the Year
Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech

All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team
John Jackopsic, Sr., Boston College # (Communication/Philosophy)
Billy Kennerly, Sr., Clemson # (Management)
Miller Capps, Jr., Clemson @ (Economics)
Stephen Behr, R-Jr., Clemson # (Financial Management)
Adam Wood, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)
Jacob Shuman, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)
Turner Southey-Gordon, Sr., Duke @ (Cultural Anthropology)
Josh Lee, So., Florida State (Marketing)
Anders Albertson, Sr., Georgia Tech % (Business Administration)
Chris Petefish, So., Georgia Tech (Business Administration)
James Clark, Fr., Georgia Tech (Business Administration)
Ollie Schneiderjans, Sr., Georgia Tech % (Business Administration)
Vince Whaley, So., Georgia Tech (Business Administration)
Jeffrey Lehman, So., Louisville (Business Finance)
Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Jr., Louisville (Sports Administration)
Benjamin Griffin, Fr., North Carolina (Business Administration)
Carter Jenkins, So., North Carolina (Undecided)
William Register, Fr., North Carolina (Business Administration)
Tyler Wingo, Sr., Notre Dame (Finance)
Derek Bard, So., Virginia @ (Foreign Affairs)
Jimmy Stanger, So., Virginia (Commerce)
Maclain Huge, Jr., Virginia Tech # (Public Relations)
Davis Womble, Jr., Wake Forest # (Finance)

@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree