2013 All-@ACCMSoccer Teams Announced


Notre Dame’s Shipp; North Carolina’s Okwuonu named Players of the Year; Notre Dame’s Clark named Coach of the Year; Boston College’s Lewis selected as top freshman

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Notre Dame senior Harrison Shipp and North Carolina junior Boyd Okwuonu highlight the 2013 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer Team, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Shipp was selected as the ACC Offensive Player of the Year and Okwuonu as the Defensive Player of the Year in a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players. Boston College midfielder Zeiko Lewis received Freshman of the Year honors, while Notre Dame’s Bobby Clark was voted Coach of the Year.

Shipp, a senior forward, ranks second in the league in points (24), is tied for second in assists (8), and is tied for third in goals (8). The Lake Forest, Ill., native tallied a league-best five game-winners and has led the team as the captain to a No. 1 national rank and the semifinals of the ACC Championship. Shipp is the first Notre Dame student-athlete to earn an ACC Player of the Year award in any sport.

Okwuonu, a junior defender, led the Tar Heel defense to nine shutouts – tied for the best mark in the league -- and a 0.62 goals against average. A native of Edmond, Okla., Owkuonu earned his third career ACC honor after being selected to the First Team All-ACC the past two seasons and earning All-Freshman honors in 2011. He is the second North Carolina player to be named ACC Defensive Player of the Year after Matt Hedges in 2011.

Boston College’s Lewis started in 17 of the Eagles’ 18 games this season, notching three goals and a league-leading 11 assists for 17 points in his rookie campaign, which ranks eighth in the conference. The Pembroke, Bermuda, native twice tallied multiple assists in conference games. He is the first player from Boston College to be named ACC Freshman of the Year.

Notre Dame’s Clark led the Fighting Irish to a share of the ACC regular season title in 2013, the team’s first in the league. Notre Dame, which stands 12-1-5 overall and 7-1-3 in conference play, started the season on a 13 game unbeaten streak. The Irish have been the consensus No. 1 team in the nation the past two weeks, and have been ranked in the top 10 the entire season.

Notre Dame leads all teams with six All-ACC selections. Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, and Wake Forest all had four players recognized.

The 2013 ACC Men’s Soccer Championship continues on Friday, Nov. 15, with a pair of semifinal matches. No. 2 seed Notre Dame will play No. 6 Virginia in the first semifinal at 5:30 p.m., while No. 1 Maryland and No. 4 Clemson will meet in the second semifinal at 8 p.m. Both matches will be streamed live on ESPN3.

ACC Offensive Player of the Year - Harrison Shipp, Sr., F, Notre Dame

ACC Defensive Player of the Year - Boyd Okwuonu, Jr., D, North Carolina

ACC Freshman of the Year - Zeiko Lewis, Fr., M/F, Boston College

ACC Coach of the Year – Bobby Clark, Notre Dame

All-ACC First Team

Thomas McNamara, Gr., M, Clemson

Sebastien Ibeagha, Sr., D/M, Duke

Patrick Mullins, Sr., F, Maryland

Dan Metzger, Jr., M, Maryland

Boyd Okwuonu, Jr., D, North Carolina

Harrison Shipp, Sr., F, Notre Dame

Nick Besler, Jr., M, Notre Dame

Kyle Renfro, Sr., GK, Virginia Tech

Sean Okoli, Jr., F, Wake Forest

Luca Gimenez, Sr., M/F, Wake Forest

Jared Watts, Sr., M, Wake Forest

All-ACC Second Team

Zeiko Lewis, Fr., M/F, Boston College

Sean Davis, Jr., M, Duke

Schillo Tshuma, So., M/F, Maryland

Nazmi Albadawi, Sr., M, NC State

Jonathan Campbell, So., D, North Carolina

Brendan Moore, Jr., GK, North Carolina

Patrick Hodan, So., M, Notre Dame

Emil Ekblom, Fr., F, Syracuse

Eric Bird, Jr., M, Virginia

Darius Madison, So., F, Virginia

Jalen Robinson, So., D, Wake Forest

All-ACC Third Team

Jack Metcalf, Sr., M, Clemson

Kyle Fisher, So., D, Clemson

Zach Mathers, So., M, Duke

Brody Huitema, Fr., F, Duke

Mikey Ambrose, So., D, Maryland

Alex Martinez, Sr., M, NC State

Jordan McCrary, Jr., M/D, North Carolina

Vince Cicciarelli, Jr., F, Notre Dame

Luke Mishu, Sr., D, Notre Dame

Grant Van De Casteele, Sr., D, Notre Dame

Alex Bono, So., GK, Syracuse

Jordan Allen, Fr., M, Virginia

​All-ACC Freshman Team

Zeiko Lewis, Fr., M/F, Boston College

Brody Huitema, Fr., F, Duke

Zack Steffen, Fr., GK, Maryland

Michael Sauers, Fr., M, Maryland

Travis Wannemuehler, Fr., F, NC State

Omar Holness, Fr., M, North Carolina

Emil Ekblom, Fr., F, Syracuse

Alex Halis, Fr., M, Syracuse

Jordan Allen, Fr., M, Virginia

Ian Harkes, Fr., M, Wake Forest

Jacori Hayes, Fr., M, Wake Forest