2013 All-ACC Field Hockey Team Announced


Maryland’s Witmer (pictured above), Virginia’s Buckley earn fourth-career honor

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Twenty-three student-athletes were honored on Wednesday as part of the 2013 Field Hockey All-ACC Team, as announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. The accolades are voted on by the league’s seven head coaches.

Headlining the 2013 All-ACC team are Maryland’s Jill Witmer and Virginia’s Elly Buckley. The two have been named to the squad four times, and are just the 10th and 11th players in the 31-year history of ACC field hockey to be four-time honorees. 

Two more student-athletes – Wake Forest’s Anna Kozniuk and Duke’s Emmie Le Marchand -- earned their third career All-ACC recognition.

All seven of the league’s teams are represented on the All-ACC squad, led by six student-athletes from top-ranked Maryland and four each from No. 8 Duke and No. 2 Syracuse. No. 3 North Carolina and No. 4 Virginia both had three honorees, followed by No. 15 Wake Forest with two and No. 11 Boston College with one.

The 2013 ACC Field Hockey Championship gets under way Thursday in Newton, Mass. Thursday’s quarterfinals are scheduled for 11 a.m., 1 p.m., and 3 p.m., and the semifinals will be at 1 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. on Friday. The championship will be held Sunday at 1 p.m.

For more information, visit the official site of the 2013 ACC Field Hockey Championship at http://theacc.co/FHChamp.

2013 ACC Field Hockey All-ACC Teams

First Team
Emma Plasteras @Jr.MBoston College
Maxine Fluharty Jr.M/FMaryland
Natalie Hunter Sr.GKMaryland
Ali McEvoy @Sr.DMaryland
Jill Witmer %Sr.FMaryland
Charlotte Craddock @Jr.FNorth Carolina
Nina Notman So.M/DNorth Carolina
Emily Wold @So.M/DNorth Carolina
Leonie Geyer Sr.MSyracuse
Elly Buckley %Sr.FVirginia
Anna Kozniuk #Jr.D/MWake Forest
Second Team
Lauren Blazing R-So.GKDuke
Paula Heimbach @Sr.DDuke
Aileen Johnson So.MDuke
Emmie Le Marchand #Sr.FDuke
Katie Gerzabek Jr.FMaryland
Sarah Sprink So.DMaryland
Laura Hahnefeldt Sr.DSyracuse
Alyssa Manley So.MSyracuse
Emma Russell So.M/FSyracuse
Lucy Hyams Fr.MVirginia
Carissa Vittese Sr.DVirginia
Christine Conroe R-Jr.MWake Forest
@ Two-time honoree, # Three-time honoree, % Four-time honoree