Heisman Trophy Quiz with ACC Players and Coaches

From Ty Detmer to Johnny Manziel to Jameis Winston...ACC players & coaches attempt to name each of the 24 Heisman Trophy winners since the 1990 season.

College Football History Quiz with ACC Coaches

You know the men that patrol the sidelines on Saturdays, but can they name the legends that preceded them? The ACC coaches fire off as many of the top 20 winningest coaches in Division I history as they can.

ACC Football Players Take Nickname Quiz

Players line up each week against their conference foes, but see if they can list each of the ACC football schools' nicknames.

Jimbo Breaks Down Jameis' New Offensive Weapons | ACC Now

See how the National Champions are doing with Jimbo Fisher's post-practice wrap up, which starter will begin the season on the sidelines for Syracuse, Georgia Tech's Key to Success, plus more!

P.J. Williams Performs Dance From "The Wood" on Clinton's Corner

In this version of Clinton's Corner, Florida State star defensive back P.J. Williams talks about the Noles' expectations going into the 2014 season, who is a better QB Jameis Winston or EJ Manuel and reenacts a funny dance scene with Winston from his favorite movie The Wood.

Marquise Williams Talks Twilight and Pedicures on Clinton's Corner

Who says football players don't have a soft and gentle side? Listen as UNC QB Marquise Williams confesses to Clinton Portis about what Twilight does to him and what his guilty pleasure is.

UNC All-American Sings Song from Frozen | ACC Now

Preseason All-America Punt Returner Ryan Switzer of North Carolina takes a break to serenade his younger sister with a catchy tune from Frozen.

Heisman Trophy Quiz with ACC Players and Coaches

From Ty Detmer to Johnny Manziel to Jameis Winston...ACC players & coaches attempt to name each of the 24 Heisman Trophy winners since the 1990 season.

Office of the Commissioner | About the ACC

ACC Expansion  | Staff Directory  | Contact Us  | Commissioner John D. Swofford 

The Atlantic Coast Conference was founded on May 8, 1953, at the Sedgefield Inn near Greensboro, N.C., with seven charter members - Clemson, Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, North Carolina State, South Carolina and Wake Forest - drawing up the conference by-laws.

The withdrawal of seven schools from the Southern Conference came early on the morning of May 8, 1953, during the Southern Conference's annual spring meeting. On June 14, 1953, the seven members met in Raleigh, N.C., where a set of bylaws was adopted and the name became officially the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Suggestions from fans for the name of the new conference appeared in the region's newspapers prior to the meeting in Raleigh. Some of the names suggested were: Dixie, Mid South, Mid Atlantic, East Coast, Seaboard, Colonial, Tobacco, Blue-Gray, Piedmont, Southern Seven and the Shoreline.

Duke's Eddie Cameron recommended that the name of the conference be the Atlantic Coast Conference, and the motion was passed unanimously. The meeting concluded with each member institution assessed $200.00 to pay for conference expenses.

On December 4, 1953, conference officials met again at Sedgefield and officially admitted the University of Virginia as the league's eighth member. The first, and only, withdrawal of a school from the ACC came on June 30, 1971, when the University of South Carolina tendered its resignation.

The ACC operated with seven members until April 3, 1978, when the Georgia Institute of Technology was admitted. The Atlanta school had withdrawn from the Southeastern Conference in January of 1964.

The ACC expanded to nine members on July 1, 1991, with the addition of Florida State University.

The conference expanded to 11 members on July 1, 2004, with the addition of the University of Miami and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

On October 17, 2003, Boston College accepted an invitation to become the league's 12th member starting July 1, 2005.

On September 18, 2011, the ACC extended formal invitations to Pitt and Syracuse. The league announced it had accepted Notre Dame as a new member (all sports except for football) on September 12, 2012.

The ACC officially grew to 15 members on July 1, 2013 as Pitt, Syracuse and Notre Dame officially entered the league amidst a huge celebration in New York City.

On November 28, 2012, the ACC announced the acceptance of the University of Louisville with an official entry date of July 1, 2014.


Missing Page