NCAA Softball ACCtion: Saturday, May 25

NCAA Softball ACCtion: Saturday, May 25

May 25, 2013

Texas Gets Past Florida State on Late-Game Double

AUSTIN, Texas - After shutting down No. 4 seeded Texas early, the 19th-ranked Florida State softball team was unable to hold its early 2-0 advantage as Texas chipped away for a 3-2 victory on Saturday evening in front of 1,285 fans in game one of the NCAA Super Regionals at McCombs Field.

Monica Perry (19-9) entered the game in relief to start the sixth inning and allowed the go-ahead RBI double to Karina Scott to pick up the loss. Perry had not allowed a run in 10 innings pitched in the NCAA postseason prior to her appearance on Saturday.

Senior Kirstin Austin picked up two base hits on Saturday night, going 2-for-3 with one walk for her 11th multiple-hit game of the season. Freshman Victoria East recorded two RBIs on a double in the third inning to supply all of Florida State's offense. The Pensacola, Fla. native now has nine multiple-RBI games this season.

Florida State and Texas square off in game two of the super regionals on Sunday, May 26 at 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT on one of the ESPN Family of networks. A third and deciding game will be played if necessary at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT.